John M. Folks

The top job in the Northside School District in San Antonio, Texas, belongs to John Folks. He comes to this position from the superintendency of Spring Independent School District in Houston. Folks earlier served as dean of the school of education at Southwestern Oklahoma State University and as Oklahoma’s state superintendent of public instruction.

Jeremy M. Hughes
After 13 years as superintendent in Dearborn, Mich., Jeremy Hughes now directs the Office of Educational Assessment and Michigan Merit Award, part of the state Treasury Department. Earlier he spent 10 years as superintendent in Haslett, Mich. Hughes also was assistant superintendent in Saginaw, Mich.

Yvonne Katz
Returning to her home state, Yvonne Katz takes over the superintendency of the Spring Branch Independent School District in Houston. Katz formerly held the top post in Beaverton, Ore. Previously, she served as superintendent of the Harlandale schools in San Antonio and associate commissioner with the Texas Education Agency.

Kay E. Royster
Peoria, Ill., has a new superintendent in Kay Royster, who spent the last two years as deputy CEO and chief academic officer for the Detroit Public Schools. She also worked as superintendent in Kalamazoo, Mich., for four years. Royster recently served a term on the AASA Executive Committee. She is a native of Chicago.

Cynthia Stevenson
Cynthia Stevenson moves up from her position of deputy superintendent to assume the top berth in Jefferson County, Colo., making her the district’s first home-grown superintendent. She has spent 20 years as a district employee, including stints as principal and assistant superintendent. Stevenson began as a 1st-grade teacher.

Chris L. Wright
The Hazelwood School District in St. Louis County, Mo., welcomed Chris Wright to the superintendency. Wright served for seven years as superintendent in the Riverview Gardens School District and previously filled the same post with the Ritenour School District, both in St. Louis.


Julie V. Amodeo, from interim superintendent to superintendent, Marlboro, N.Y.

Dan Arriola, from superintendent, La Grande, Ore., to superintendent, Wilder, Idaho

Daniel L. Burke, from superintendent, Oxford, Conn., to superintendent, Tomah, Wis.

Ann Clark, from superintendent, Bristol, Conn., to superintendent, Fairfield, Conn.

William D. Guzman, from assistant superintendent for business services, Hartford, Conn., to superintendent, Tolland, Conn.

Jane Hammond, from superintendent, Jefferson County Public Schools, Golden, Colo., to superintendent in residence, Stupski Family Foundation, San Francisco, Calif.

Renee Jacobson, from superintendent, Eustis-Farnum School District, Eustis, Neb., to superintendent, Plattsmouth, Neb.

Diane Lehse, superintendent, Kelliher, Minn., to superintendent, Clearbrook-Gonvick School District, Gonvick, Minn.

Joseph A. Lewis, from associate superintendent, Pocono Mountain School District, Swiftwater, Pa., to superintendent, Bethlehem, Pa.

Darrell R. Lund, from superintendent, Darien, Conn., to superintendent, Tenafly, N.J.

Ray McMullen, from superintendent, Fort Campbell, Ky., to administrator in residence, Department of Defense Education Activity, Arlington, Va.

Larry Mussoline, from superintendent, Pine Grove, Pa., to superintendent, Northampton, Pa.

Bill Myhr, from superintendent, Elma, Wash., to superintendent, Coupeville, Wash.

Perry Perkins, associate superintendent, Auburn-Washburn Unified Schools, Topeka, Kan., to superintendent, Arkansas City, Kan.

Lynne B. Pierson, from superintendent, Wethersfield, Conn., to superintendent, Weston, Conn.

Dan Powell, from superintendent, Union, S.C., to superintendent, Greenwood School District 52, Ninety Six, S.C.

Karen Raccuia, from superintendent, Newfane, N.Y., to superintendent, Canisteo, N.Y.

Brad Rahe, from superintendent, Humboldt, Kan., to superintendent, Holton, Kan.

John Regan, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, South Washington County School District, Cottage Grove, Minn.

Jay Rowell, from personnel and curriculum director to superintendent, La Grande, Ore.

David Walters, from superintendent, Valley Heights Unified School District, Waterville, Kan., to superintendent, North Central Unified School District, Haddam, Kan., and Hillcrest Unified School District, Cuba, Kan.

Henriette L. Allen, executive director, Mississippi Association of School Administrators, Brandon, Miss.

Bill Cason, superintendent, Sumter, S.C.

Joseph C. Cirasuolo, superintendent, Wallingford, Conn.

Eugene A. Coppola, superintendent, Seymour, Conn.

Loran Frazier, executive director, Montana Association of School Superintendents, Helena, Mont.

Darroll Hargraves, executive director, Alaska Council of School Administrators, Juneau, Alaska

David Holland, superintendent, Union County School District, Morganfield, Ky.

Michael J. Malinowski, superintendent, Coventry, Conn.

Gary Mills, superintendent, Albany, Calif.

Dave Thomas, shared superintendent, Boyer Valley, Iowa, and East Monona, Iowa.

Tom Weightman, executive director, Florida Association of District School Superintendents, Tallahassee, Fla.

Doyle Winter, executive director, Washington Association of School Administrators, Olympia, Wash.

Dennis Wittman, superintendent, Southeast Consolidated School District, Stella, Neb.

Arturo Luis Gutierrez, 67, retired superintendent, Zapata, Texas, April 13

Mary Alice Klein, 68, retired superintendent, Tucker County, W.Va., June 16

Bobby Whittington, 50, superintendent, Amite County, La., June 18