Marcilene Dutton
After serving as associate director and legal counsel for the Illinois Association of School Administrators since 1993, Marcy Dutton has become deputy general counsel for the Illinois State Board of Education. She originally served IASA as a lobbyist before moving full-time into legal services. Dutton previously worked for the Chicago-based firm of Robbins, Schwartz, Nicholas, Lifton and Taylor in its Decatur office, where she was an intern as a college undergraduate. Earlier she worked for a bankruptcy judge and an insurance defense firm. Dutton received her J.D. degree from Louisiana State University.

R. Kirk Hamilton
Following a nine-year tenure as superintendent of the 21,000-student South-Western City School District in Grove City, Ohio, Kirk Hamilton is assuming the deputy executive directorship of the Buckeye Association of School Administrators in Columbus on Jan. 1. He previously spent three years as superintendent of the Batavia Local Schools after serving as a principal of secondary schools in New Richmond and Batavia, both in Ohio. A past president of BASA, Hamilton holds a doctorate in administration from Miami University.

David H. Larson
A lengthy career in public education ends in January when David Larson retires as executive director of the Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents, a post he assumed in 2000. A former state superintendent of the year honoree, Larson previously served as superintendent in two Connecticut towns, Middletown and Ridgefield. He also has worked as an assistant superintendent in Southington, a high school principal and a math teacher. Larson is a past president of the state association, as well. He earned his Ph.D. from University of Connecticut.

Maggie Shook
Veteran educator Maggie Shook has accepted the superintendency with the Thomaston-Upson schools in Thomaston, Ga. She previously served four years as superintendent in the Region 16 School District in Prospect, Conn. Earlier Shook worked as director of curriculum in the Screven County Schools in Sylvania, Ga. Her career began in Greensboro, N.C., where she worked as a teacher, media specialist and principal before moving into administration in Georgia. Shook earned her doctorate in educational administration from Georgia Southern University.

Jeffrey R. Walburn
The new superintendent of the 220-student Silver Lake Public Schools in Roseland, Neb., is Jeff Walburn. A Cornhusker State native, he previously served in combined K-6 principal/superintendent positions in the McCool Junction, Neb., Public Schools and the Cedar Bluffs, Neb., Public Schools over the past decade. Walburn also served as a K-12 principal in Davenport, Neb., and a secondary school administrator in Daykin, Neb. He started his education career in 1980 and spent 11 years as a head football coach and eight years as a varsity basketball coach.

James E. Wilcox
Following a two-year stint at the top of the Waxahachie, Texas, schools, Jim Wilcox has moved into the superintendency in Longview, Texas. Wilcox previously spent 13 years as superintendent of the Hooks, Texas, Independent School District and two years leading the Normangee, Texas, system. His other postings, all in the Lone Star State, include assistant superintendent in Joshua; assistant superintendent in Hamshire; and principal of Hamshire-Fannett High School. Wilcox earned a doctorate in education at Texas A&M University.


Jeff Graber, from assistant superintendent, Princeton, N.J., to associate director for school leadership programs, New Jersey Principals and Supervisors Association, Monroe Township, N.J.

William Hall, from superintendent, Blue Mountain School District, Orwigsburg, Pa., to superintendent, Gettysburg, Pa.

Joseph O’Brien, from superintendent, Haddonfield, N.J., to executive director, Chester County Intermediate Unit, Downingtown, Pa.

George Staudenmaier, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Lower Burrell, Pa.


John K. Baillie, superintendent, Chester County Intermediate Unit, Downingtown, Pa.

Lester Beason, superintendent, Columbus, Miss.

Lee Beaton, superintendent, Slippery Rock, Pa.

Barbara Burke-Stevenson, superintendent, New Hope-Solebury School District, New Hope, Pa.

James Dull, superintendent, Halifax, Pa.

Mary Ellen Freeley, superintendent, Malverne, N.Y.

H. Kaye Griffin, superintendent, Madison, Conn.

Carl Hughs, superintendent, Cutter Morning Star, Ark.

Joseph Marcoline, superintendent, Homer City, Pa.

Douglas Nelson, superintendent, Bend-La Pine School District, Bend, Ore.

P. Duff Rearick, superintendent, Greencastle, Pa.

Mark Sanders, superintendent, Valley Springs, Ark.

Paula Schwartz, superintendent, Regional School District 10, Burlington, Conn.

Robert Smith, superintendent, Northern Potter School District, Ulysses, Pa.

Audrey Utley, superintendent, Middletown, Pa.

Thomas Wilczek, superintendent, New Kensington- Arnold School District, New Kensington, Pa.

Dewane Wren, superintendent, Blackfoot, Idaho


Thomas L. Seidenberger, superintendent, East Penn, Pa., School District named board chair of Middle States Commission on Elementary Schools

Eugene G. White, superintendent, Indianapolis, Ind., named Superintendent of the Year by National Alliance of Black School Educators


John L. Cook, 61, retired superintendent, Dewitt, Mich., Aug. 16

Karen Forys, 63, superintendent, Northshore School District, Bothell, Wash., Sept. 17

Katie Spinos, 48, superintendent, Burlington, Mass., Aug. 7