DavidBehlow.jpg  David L. Behlow
A 38-year veteran in education, David Behlow has assumed the superintendency of the 4,400-student North Shore School District 112 in Highland Park, Ill, after having filled the same position in the Oswego, Ill., Community Unit School District 308 for the last eight years. Previously Behlow spent 16 years in Minnesota, serving as a principal and assistant superintendent of instruction before being named superintendent in Columbia Heights, Minn. A native of Wisconsin, Behlow completed a doctorate at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. 
ElaineBeraza.jpg Elaine G. Beraza
After more than three decades of federal government service, Elaine Beraza will move into the superintendency in Yakima, Wash., this summer. She has worked since 2001 as the U.S. Department of Defense’s director of domestic dependent elementary and secondary schools for Cuba, based in Peachtree, Ga. Beraza earlier was superintendent of both the West Point Dependent Schools and the Camp Lejeune Dependent Schools. She holds a doctorate in educational administration and leadership from NOVA Southeastern University.
MichaelMcLaughlin.jpg Michael J. McLaughlin
The John Swett Unified School District in Rodeo, Calif., has a new superintendent in Michael McLaughlin. For the last four years, he has worked as superintendent in Briggs Elementary School District in Santa Paula, Calif. Previously, McLaughlin spent three years in the top job of the Etna, Calif., Union Elementary School District and as a vice principal for a year in Sacramento, Calif., schools. He also was a summer school principal in Auburn, Calif. McLaughlin holds an Ed.D. from University of Southern California.
MichaelZolkoski.jpg Michael E. Zolkoski
A 21-year superintend-ent, Michael Zolkoski has assumed the superintendency of the Ysleta Independent School District in El Paso, Texas, after serving in the same role in Tulsa, Okla., since 2006. Zolkoski has filled the top executive positions in the Texas districts of Brownsville, San Antonio, Rosenberg, New Caney and Pearsall and in Lafayette, La. A native of San Antonio, Zolkoski has a Ph.D. in educational administration from University of Texas-Austin and an Ed.D. in educational administration from California Coast University.

Robert E. Bartman
sees in the marathon road race a useful metaphor for his professional work the past six years as superintendent of the Center School District 58 in Kansas City, Mo. He has run in 20 marathons to date, including events in Arizona, Chicago, Honolulu and Philadelphia. “The marathon is a microcosm of (running) an urban district. To make a difference you need consistency and persistence,” says Bartman, an AASA member since 1988. “There’s no magic wand. You need to focus, keep your eye on the goal. You need mental toughness. … This in a nutshell is what a marathon is all about — lots of uphills and downhills.”




Alan Garey, from principal to superintendent, Medicine Valley, Neb., Public Schools

Michael Golde, from superintendent, Chi-chester, Pa., to superintendent, Millcreek Township, Pa.

Wesley L. Knapp, from superintendent, Southwest Vermont Supervisory Union, Bennington, Vt., to superintendent, Midd-West School District, Middleburg, Pa.

Claudia Mansfield Sutton, from associate executive director, American Association of School Administrators, to executive director, Student Youth Travel Association, McLean, Va.

John Burgart, superintendent, Dubuque Community Schools, Dubuque, Iowa

James Duncan, superintendent, Connellsville, Pa.

John D. Currie, superintendent, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District 196, Rosemount, Minn.

Maureen Hager, superintendent, North Shore School District 112, Highland Park, Ill.

Mark Harpst, superintendent, Platte County School District R3, Platte City, Mo.

Dennis G. Kelly, superintendent, Lyons Township High School District 204, LaGrange, Ill.

Brian Knutson, superintendent, Community Unit School District 95, Lake Zurich, Ill.

Joel W. Morris, superintendent, Maine Township High School District 207, Park Ridge, Ill.

Donna Peterson, superintendent, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District, Soldotna, Ala.

Mark Van Clay, superintendent, La Grange Elementary School District 102, LaGrange, Ill.

Ed Waltman, superintendent, Mankato, Minn.

Roger Worner, superintendent, Centennial School District 12, Circle Pines, Minn.

Arlene Ackerman, superintendent, Philadelphia, Pa.; and Maria Goodloe-Johnson, superintendent, Seattle, Wash., named to advisory board, Broad Center for the Management of School Systems

Billy Cannaday, dean, School of Continuing and Professional Studies, University of Virginia, accorded AdvancED Leadership Award

Stewart D. Roberson, superintendent, Hanover County, Va., accorded National Excellence in Education Award from AdvancED

Chris L. Wright, superintendent, Hazelwood, Mo., received Elmer Belsha Leadership Award from North County Inc. for regional development

George C. (Kip) Reel Jr., 60, former executive director of the Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents, March 13