AASA Names 2020 Women in School Leadership Award Finalists



James Minichello   
703-774-6953 (cell)


Alexandria, Va. – Nov. 21, 2019AASA, The School Superintendents Association, is pleased to announce the finalists for the organization’s 2020 Women in School Leadership Awards. The awards, sponsored by Horace Mann and AASA, pay tribute to the talent, creativity and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in the nation’s public schools.

“This recognition illustrates AASA’s practice of honoring our nation’s outstanding female educators and the growing need to foster pathways for more and more women who wish to advance their careers,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “Celebrating these accomplished professionals will lead to an increasing number of women entering the field of public education administration. We are extremely proud of our finalists and look forward to honoring them at our national conference. We thank Horace Mann for partnering with us on this initiative.” 

The awards are designed to recognize the exceptional leadership of active, front-line female administrators who are making a difference in the lives of students every day and to pay tribute to the talent, creativity and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in the nation’s public schools. 

The finalists are as follows:  

The Central Office/Principal Award – awarded to any female central office or building-level leader

  • Sara Paul, assistant superintendent, White Bear Lake Area Schools, White Bear Lake, Minn.  
  • Shelly Reggiani, executive director, equity and instructional services, North Clackamas Schools, Milwaukie, Ore.
  • Patricia Sullivan-Kowalski, senior director, student supports and special education, Meriden Public Schools, Meriden, Conn.

The Superintendent Award – awarded to any female superintendent

  • Susan Enfield, superintendent, Highline Public Schools, Burien, Wash.      
  • LaTonya Goffney, superintendent, Aldine Independent School District, Houston, Texas
  • Candace Singh, superintendent, Fallbrook Union Elementary School District, Fallbrook, Calif.

The School Based Award awarded to any female classroom teacher or school-based specialist
Equivalent job titles may include a school-based counselor.

  • Lesley Bruinton, public relations coordinator, Tuscaloosa City Schools, Tuscaloosa, Ala.
  • Shenee Holloway, program specialist, division of school improvement and operations, Gwinnett County Public Schools, Suwanee, Ga.   

Click here to view the profiles of the Women in School Leadership finalists.

Candidates are judged on leadership in meeting the learning needs of students, personal and organizational communication strength, constant professional improvement of knowledge and skills, and active community involvement.

The final award recipients in each category will be announced during the AASA National Conference on Education, Feb. 13-15, 2020, in San Diego. For more information on the Women in School Leadership Awards, please visit the AASA website or contact Jennifer Rooney, AASA director, meetings and awards, at jrooney@aasa.org.


About AASA 
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.