School System Leaders Recognized for Earning National Superintendent Certification

February 16, 2024


James Minichello

San Diego, Calif. – Feb. 16, 2024 – More than 30 public school system leaders across the country were recognized for taking significant steps toward improving their schools and advancing their careers by successfully completing the AASA National Superintendent Certification Program®.

The program, administered by AASA, The School Superintendents Association, is a collaborative effort with AASA state affiliates and business and corporate leaders. Through its in-depth curriculum, dynamic in-person and virtual sessions, one-on-one mentoring, capstone project and long-term professional networks, the program delivers the comprehensive leadership opportunities that superintendents need. A ceremony was held prior to AASA’s National Conference on Education in San Diego, Calif.

“To best serve the students, staff and families that make up learning communities across the country, today’s future-driven superintendent must possess the skills, knowledge, creativity and professional networks necessary to thrive on the job,” said David R. Schuler, executive director, AASA. “The AASA National Superintendent Certification Program® provides superintendents with opportunities to engage in world-class professional learning environments. It is with great pleasure that I congratulate these outstanding education leaders for completing this prestigious professional learning initiative.”

“The AASA National Superintendent Certification Program® provides superintendents with opportunities to engage in world-class professional learning environments.”

Honorees included:

  • Kellen Adams, superintendent, Chanute Public School Unified School District 413, Chanute, Kan.
  • Tim Bauer, superintendent, Valdez City School District, Valdez, Ark.
  • Mark Beehler, superintendent, Salamanca City School District, Salamanca, N.Y.
  • Kristin Brown, superintendent, Lake Dallas Independent School District, Lake Dallas, Texas
  • Joe Clark, superintendent, Nordonia Hills City School District, Northfield, Ohio
  • Jared Cleveland, superintendent, Springdale School District 50, Springdale, Ark.
  • Sukai Durosimi, superintendent, East Fort Worth Montessori Academy, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Matthew Friedman, superintendent, Ocean City School District, Ocean City, N.J.
  • Felix Garcia, superintendent, Jemez Mountain School District, Gallina, N.M.
  • Ryan Giffing, superintendent, Conrad Weiser Area School District, Robesonia, Pa.
  • Travis Graham, superintendent, Purdy School District R2, Purdy, Mo.
  • Joseph Hattrick, superintendent, Rainier School District 13, Rainier, Ore.
  • Scott Hayes, superintendent, Union School District R11, Union, Mo.
  • Kyle Kallhoff, superintendent, Cullman City School District, Cullman, Ala.
  • Michael Karner, regional superintendent of schools, Lake County Regional Office of Education, Vernon Hills, Ill.
  • King Laurence, superintendent, Aiken County School District, Aiken, S.C.
  • Benjamin Lee, superintendent, Metamora Community Consolidated School District 1, Metamora, Ill.
  • Takeda LeGrand, superintendent, Scotland County Schools, Laurinburg, N.C.
  • Tale Lockett, chief executive officer, Algiers Charter School Association, New Orleans, La.
  • Randy Lords, assistant superintendent, Madison School District 321, Rexburg, Idaho
  • Ginni McDonald, superintendent, Russellville School District, Russellville, Ark.
  • Tonya Merrigan, superintendent, Blue Valley Unified School District #229, Overland Park, Kan.
  • Dana Monogue, superintendent, Middleton-Cross Plains Area School District, Middleton, Wis.
  • Terry Morawski, superintendent, Fort Smith School District, Fort Smith, Ark.
  • Michelle Morse, superintendent, Bettendorf Community School District, Bettendorf, Iowa
  • Amy Roble, superintendent, Maxwell School District, Maxwell, N.M.
  • Todd Smith, superintendent, Azle Independent School District, Azle, Texas
  • Kristy Somerville-Midgette, division superintendent, Brunswick County Public Schools, Lawrenceville, Va.
  • Tamara Sterling, superintendent, Franklin City School District, Franklin, Va.
  • James Sullivan, superintendent/director of schools, Rutherford County School District, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • Heather Sweet, superintendent, Ocosta School District 172, Westport, Mass.
  • Regina Thompson, superintendent, Fairfield City School District, Fairfield, Ala. 

Master teachers and guest instructors who have all been sitting superintendents and have demonstrable track records of success train the program’s participants.

Regarded as the most comprehensive professional learning and networking event for school superintendents and administrators, AASA’s National Conference on Education addresses the most critical issues affecting public education today, including Live Well. Lead Well. — health and well-being and self-care; redesigning learning; school environment and culture; school safety, finances and operations; and transformational learning and leading.

For more information about AASA’s National Superintendent Certification Program®, visit the AASA website or contact Mort Sherman, AASA senior associate executive director, at, or Amy Sichel, lead superintendent of the program, at


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association
, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit