AASA Hosts 2023 Superintendent of the Year Finalists for Education Briefing

January 20, 2023

AASA, The School Superintendents Association, hosted a press briefing on January 12, 2023, featuring the four finalists for the National Superintendent of the Year®.

The finalists are:

  • PJ Caposey, Meridian Community Unit School District #223, Stillman Valley, Ill.
  • Matthew Hillmann, Northfield Public Schools, ISD 659, Northfield, Minn.
  • Kevin McGowan, Brighton Central Schools, Rochester, N.Y.
  • Trent North, Douglas County School System, Douglasville, Ga.
SOY Panelists sitting at a table near the moderator
From left to right, Caitlynn Peetz, PJ Caposey, Matthew Hillmann, Kevin McGowan and Trent North

The briefing was moderated by Education Week's Caitlynn Peetz.

Topics included:

  • measuring student achievement;
  • federal relief funds;
  • mental health and wellness; and
  • school community/today's political landscape.

The National Superintendent of the Year® will be announced on Thursday, Feb. 16, during AASA's National Conference on Education, in San Antonio, Texas.

Watch the Briefing