Women in School Leadership Awards

Women in School Leadership Awardees

The Women in School Leadership awards recognize female educators whose talent, creativity and vision are exemplary.

Two awards are presented annually at the AASA National Conference on Education.


The AASA Women in School Leadership Award program is designed to recognize the exceptional leadership of active, front-line female leaders who are making a difference in the lives of students every day.

Two awards are available:

  The Superintendent Award: Awarded to any female superintendent who's been in the superintendent position for two years or more.

  The Central Office/Principal Award: Awarded to any female central office or building level leader. Equivalent job titles may include: assistant superintendent, central office administrator, school based principal/assistant principal.

Selection Criteria

Each State Superintendent of the Year is judged on the following criteria:

  • Leadership for Learning: Creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in her school or district.
  • Communication: Strength in both personal and organizational communication.
  • Professionalism: Constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing motivation to others on the education team.
  • Community Involvement: Active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national and international issues.
Nominations & Applications


Nominations must be completed online by September 8, 2023.


Applications must be submitted online by October 6, 2023.

Selection Process

A panel of distinguished leaders in education will select two finalists in each category for the AASA Women in School Leadership Awards.

The decision will be based on the applications submitted online and supporting documents.

The judges will virtually interview the four finalists and winners will be announced at the AASA National Conference on Education.


Each award recipient will receive $1,000 and a plaque.

Each award finalist will receive complimentary registration to the AASA National Conference on Education.

Important Dates & Deadlines
  • September 8, 2023: Deadline for nominations
  • October 6, 2023: Deadline for applications
  • November 16, 2023: Finalists are announced
  • February 15-17, 2024: Winners are announced on stage at the AASA National Conference on Education
Congratulations to the
2023 Women in School Leadership Award Winners

Winner in the Superintendent Category:

Tiffany Anderson
Tiffany Anderson, superintendent, Topeka Public Schools (Kan.)

Dr. Tiffany Anderson is the first African American female superintendent of Topeka Public Schools and she has been a public school educator for 28 years, with the majority of that time as superintendent.

Read More

Winner in the Central Office/Principal Category:

CheyAnne Fant
Cheyanne Fant, district director of nutrition services and afterschool programs, Barren County Schools (Ky.)

Cheyanne Fant spearheaded initiatives with afterschool programming to include Project Lead the Way and other Technology and Literacy programs during out of school time for grades preschool through high school.

Read More

Frequently Asked Questions
If I am nominated for the Women in School Leadership Award, how do I apply?
Submit your application online here.
I am a nominator or award applicant and have forgotten my login and/or password. What do I do?

Use the "forgot your password" link on the login page.

If you do not receive an email within one hour, please contact awards@aasa.org or 703-875-0709.

Thank You to our Women in School Leadership Awards Partner

Contact awards@aasa.org
or call 703-875-0709