Jane A. Babcock
A professional educator for 28 years, Jane Babcock has assumed the reins of the 1,000-student Prairie City-Monroe Schools in Prairie City, Iowa. Previously Babcock worked for 18 years in the Keokuk, Iowa, Community School District, serving as elementary school principal, director of curriculum and instruction, assistant superintendent and superintendent. Prior to Keokuk, she worked in Battle Creek, Iowa, as an elementary school principal for a year. Babcock began her career as a 6th-grade teacher in a self-contained classroom in Shelby, Iowa.

William E. Harner

The new superintendent in the 7,700-student Cumberland Valley School District in Mechanicsburg, Pa., is William Harner. He previously served as the principal of Gainesville Middle School in Georgia and principal of Hilton Head High School in South Carolina. Harner also spent four years as the superintendent in Greenville County, S.C., and three years on the faculty at the U.S. Military Academy. A Pennsylvania native, Harner carries a Ph.D. in educational leadership from the University of South Carolina.

Percy A. Mack Jr.

After serving as superintendent of the Dayton, Ohio, Public Schools since 2002, Percy Mack has assumed the top position in the 23,000-student Richland County School District One in Columbia, S.C. Mack earlier served as deputy superintendent in Dayton, Ohio. He started his career as a teacher, coach and club sponsor in Chatham County, Ga., and later spent 19 years in the Dekalb County, Ga., system in various berths, including a principalship and area executive director. Mack earned his Ph.D. in administration and supervision from Georgia State University.

Doug Wilson
In his 25th year in public education, including 16 years in administrative roles, Doug Wilson has moved into the superintendency of the Marana Unified School District in Marana, Ariz. He most recently was assistant superintendent of human resources in the 18,000-student Pueblo, Colo., City Schools. He previously served as superintendent of the Agua Fria Union High School District in Avondale, Ariz., and principal of Agua Fria High School. Wilson earned an Ed.D. in educational leadership from Arizona State University.


Taunton, Mass., Superintendent Arthur Stellar’s collection of nearly 120 Santa Claus dolls started innocently enough — when he spotted one in an antique store and purchased it for placement beneath the family Christmas tree. That was 21 years ago, and Stellar’s collection has expanded along with the Santas’ waistlines. Most are part of the valuable Coca-Cola collection dating back to the 1940s. He also has dozens of other Coke memorabilia, including ornaments, snow globes, posters, playing cards and cardboard stand-ups.


Dave Calchera, from interim executive director to director of public policy, Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents

Ted Gardella, from superintendent, LakeVille Community Schools, Otisville, Mich., to superintendent, Howell, Mich.

Martin D. Handler, from superintendent, Sullivan County BOCES, Liberty, N.Y., to superintendent, Brandywine Heights Area Schools, Topton, Pa.

Troy Journigan, from principal, Towers High School, Decatur, Ga., to superintendent, Baldwin County Schools, Milledgeville, Ga.

Elizabeth M. Osga, from superintendent, Griswold, Conn., to superintendent, Old Lyme, Conn.

Steve Razidlo, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Brainerd, Minn.

Morton Sherman, from superintendent, Teaneck, N.J., to superintendent, Alexandria, Va.

Stephen C. Tracy, from senior vice president, Edison Schools, New York, N.Y., to superintendent, Derby, Conn.

David Vik, from superintendent, Glenville, Minn., to superintendent/high school principal, Fisher, Minn.

Randy Willison, from associate superintendent, Fayetteville, Ark., to superintendent, Prairie Grove, Ark.

Anthony Argulewicz, superintendent, Wallkill, N.Y.

William R. Bolton, superintendent, Copiague, N.Y.

Tom Elliott, superintendent, Pocantico Hills Central Schools, Sleepy Hollow, N.Y.

Donald L. Hansen, superintendent, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle Schools, Long Prairie, Minn.

Patricia Haynes, superintendent, Ellicottville, N.Y.

Bernie Lipp, superintendent, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton Schools, Dilworth, Minn.

James J. Lupis Jr., executive director, Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland

Robert McConaghy, superintendent, Littles-town, Pa.

James E. Mitchell, superintendent, Groton, Conn.

Robert Reinke, superintendent, Winneconne, Iowa

David Robbins, superintendent, Daniel Boone Area Schools, Birdsboro, Pa.

Peter Roswell, superintendent, Hamburg, N.Y.

Dale Salberg, superintendent, Fosston, Minn.

Alan Van Cott, superintendent, Islip, N.Y.

Dominick Vita, superintendent, Litchfield, Conn.

John Whelan, superintendent, Johnstown, N.Y.