Dale N. Carlson
The 3,400-student School District of Holmen, Wis., has a new superintendent in Dale Carlson. He previously worked for 13 years at Parker High School in Janesville, Wis., serving for nine years as principal and for four years as assistant principal. Carlson started his career as a math teacher in Mauston, Wis., and taught for nine years in Houston, Minn., and La Crosse, Wis. Named the Administrator of the Year for the Janesville School District in 2007, Carlson holds a Ph.D. in educational leadership and policy analysis from University of Wisconsin at Madison.



Merrianne B. Dyer
After filling various roles over the last 30 years in Gainesville, Ga., City Schools, Merrianne Dyer has assumed the district’s superintendency. Dyer most recently served for seven years as principal of Fair Street Elementary School in Gainesville, during which time she received the Georgia Distinguished Principal Award for District 9. She previously worked as assistant principal at another Gainesville elementary school for five years. Her career began as a teacher in Jackson, Miss. Dyer earned her Ph.D. in educational policy studies from Georgia State University.



Kari McVeigh
Following two years in the superintend-ency of the Beverly Hills, Calif., Unified School District, Kari McVeigh has assumed the superintendency of the 12,000-student New Haven Unified School District in Union City, Calif. Previously, McVeigh served as assistant superintendent in the San Diego, Calif., Unified Schools. She began her career in the Clark County, Nev., Public Schools, where she worked for 23 years as a teacher and principal. A Bay Area native, McVeigh also spent two years with the Project for Whole School Change in Boston as director of school reform.


Dale J. Mitchell
The new superintendent of Fallbrook, Calif., Union High School District is Dale Mitchell. He previously served for seven years as the superintendent of the Winters, Calif., Unified Schools. Mitchell has worked as assistant superintendent of educational services in the Morongo Unified School District in Twentynine Palms, Calif., and served principalships in Barstow and Norco, Calif. He began his career in Carlsbad, Calif. A past president of the Association of California School Administrators Region 3, Mitchell earned an Ed.D. in institutional management from Pepperdine University.



Randy R. Shaver
The Tupelo, Miss., Public Schools will welcome Randy Shaver as the new superintendent on July 1. Shaver currently leads the 2,550-student Whiteville, N.C., City Schools, which he assumed in 2007. Earlier Shaver was associate superintendent of the Duplin County Schools and principal of a high school and a middle school in Guilford County, all in North Carolina. His teaching career started in Randolph County, N.C. Shaver holds an Ed.D. in educational leadership from University of North Carolina at Greensboro.



Armando Vilaseca
Vermont’s new commissioner of education is Armando Vilaseca, who had been serving since 2006 as superintendent of the Franklin West Supervisory Union (covering the towns of Fairfax, Fletcher and Georgia) based in Fairfax, Vt. Vilaseca, a Cuban immigrant, has nearly 30 years of experience in Vermont education, beginning as a middle school teacher. He served as a principal of elementary, middle and high schools before spending two years as superintendent of the Colchester, Vt., district. Since then, he has served in the top berth at Franklin West. He started his state position in January.



Jacqueline Estee, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Westside Community Schools, Omaha, Neb.

Buck Gilcrease, from superintendent, Haskell, Texas, to superintendent, Hillsboro, Texas

Rick Herman, from superintendent, McGregor, Minn., to superintendent, Wrenshall, Minn.

Walter J. Hrycenko, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Brick, N.J.

Susan King, from superintendent, Montvale, N.J., to superintendent, Rockport, Mass.

Vickie Luoma, from assistant superintendent of curriculum and instruction, Clio, Mich., to superintendent, Lakeville, Mich.

Sharon Ross, from assistant superintendent, Crockett, Texas, to superintendent, Jefferson, Texas

Mark Roubinek, from high school principal, Windom, Minn., to superintendent, Glenville-Emmons Independent School District, Glenville, Minn.

Joe Sherwood, from superintendent, Pender, Neb., to superintendent, McPherson County Public Schools, Tryon, Neb.

Nina Zetty, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Peters Township School District, McMurray, Pa.

Cathy Bryce, superintendent, Highland Park Independent Schools, Dallas, Texas

Larry Ewing, superintendent, Fort Osage School District, Independence, Mo.

Kirk London, superintendent, Hays Independent Schools, Kyle, Texas

Dennis Meade, superintendent, Minford, Ohio

Nanette Mellen, superintendent, Danville, Ill.

Sharon Richardson, legislative director, Montgomery County Intermediate Unit 23, Norristown, Pa.

John Triolo, superintendent, Martinez, Calif.

Jerry Walseth, superintendent, Brainerd, Minn.

Jacqueline C. Haas, 59, superintendent, Harford County, Md., and AASA Governing Board member, Dec. 30

Mark H. Matz, 58, superintendent, Bridgeport, Ohio, Dec. 24

David McKenzie, 81, former superintendent, Jenison, Mich., Oct. 21

Herbert S. Moyer, 80, former superintendent, Bedford, Mich., Oct. 15

Doug E. Potter, 65, retired superintendent, Westosha, Wis., Jan. 1

Marvin W. Ward, 94, retired superintendent, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County, N.C., Nov. 10