Dayton, Ohio Superintendent Receives 17th Annual Save The Music Foundation Award for Distinguished Support of Music Education


Award Presented During AASA’s National Conference  

Nashville, Tenn. – February 19, 2022 – Elizabeth Lolli, superintendent of Dayton (Ohio) Public Schools (DPS), is the 2022 recipient of the Save The Music Foundation’s (STM) 17th annual Administrator Award for Distinguished Support of Music Education.  

This prestigious award was presented at the National Conference on Education, hosted by AASA, The School Superintendents Association. 

This award recognizes one superintendent or school district CEO who has exhibited outstanding commitment to restoring music education in his or her school district. Lolli was chosen for her deep commitment to providing students across the city of Dayton with a well-rounded education that includes music. 

“It is an honor to be recognized for the district’s efforts to provide music education to students at all grade levels,” said Lolli. “Music helps students excel both in and out of the classroom, and also makes them excited to attend school each day. Giving students the opportunity to be actively involved in playing instruments, singing, and taking part in other aspects of music education is truly invaluable to their overall success.”   

Starting in 2019, STM and Dayton Public Schools teamed up to jump-start comprehensive music education programs in all 15 elementary and three middle schools in DPS, reaching all K-8 students across the district. This project is fueled by a strategic partnership with Lolli, who has demonstrated a deep commitment to ensuring every student in the district has equity and access to music education, taught by qualified teachers as part of the regular school day.  

“Superintendent Lolli has been a champion of music education for all students in Dayton,” said Jaclyn Rudderow, senior director of school programs for Save The Music Foundation. “She has led the efforts in DPS to make significant investments in both the K-12 music programs for students and in music teacher professional development and support, matching STM’s investment of providing musical instrument grants to all DPS K-8 schools.”  

In September of 2016, Lolli began her employment with DPS as associate superintendent of curriculum and instruction. Immediately prior to that date, she served as senior director of curriculum and instruction in the Middletown (Ohio) City School District. It was that same district where earlier in her career she was an elementary school principal and coordinator of elementary education and K-12 music. Previously, Lolli served as superintendent for two other Ohio districts. In these districts, she increased funding and support for band, choir, general music programs and staff professional development. 

Past recipients of this award include: Roger León, superintendent, Newark Public Schools (N.J.); Keely Roberts, superintendent, Zion Elementary District 6 (Ill.); Francisco Escobedo, superintendent, Chula Vista Elementary School District (Calif.); Nancy Sarra, superintendent, Consolidated School District of New Britain (Conn.); Kevin George, superintendent, St. John the Baptist Parish (La.) Public Schools; Russell Freitas, superintendent, Firebaugh-Las Deltas Unified (Calif.) School District; Kristi (Sandvik) Wilson, superintendent, Buckeye (Ariz.) Elementary School District; Reginald Mayo, retired superintendent, New Haven (Conn.) Public Schools; Rita Bishop, superintendent, Roanoke City (Va.) Public Schools; Kathy L. Kelly, superintendent, Columbia Heights (Minn.) Public Schools; Duncan N. P. “Pat” Pritchett Jr., former superintendent, Indianapolis (Ind.) Public Schools; John Lange, former superintendent, Adams County (Colo.) School District 14; Carol Johnson, former superintendent, Memphis City (Tenn.) Schools and current superintendent, Boston (Mass.) Public Schools; Richard Kaplan, superintendent, New Brunswick (N.J.) Public Schools; Eugene White, retired superintendent, Indianapolis (Ind.) Public Schools; and  James A. Williams, former superintendent, Buffalo (N.Y.) Public Schools.    

The National Conference on Education is regarded as the most comprehensive professional learning and networking event for school superintendents and administrators. Focus zones for the three-day gathering, themed, Learning for Student-Centered, Equity-Focused Education, cover transformational leading and learning, re-engineering learning, social environment and culture, and managing districts.        


About Save The Music Foundation
For 25 years, Save The Music has addressed the systemic inequalities in music education by investing in historically marginalized communities across the US – donating school instruments and technology; working as a convener, expert, and catalyst; helping to train and support teachers; and starting and building thousands of new music programs in over 277 school districts nationwide. Learn more at         

About AASA 
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit  

About Dayton Public Schools
Dayton Public Schools is an urban district in Southwest Ohio. DPS has 28 schools and more than 12,000 students in preschool through high school. At all levels, students receive high-quality instruction and a well-rounded education. In addition to core subject areas, students of all grade levels have opportunities for music, art, and career exploration. DPS offers one-to-one technology, 26 Career Tech pathways, Project Lead the Way courses, and College Credit Plus. Students and alumni have been recognized at local, state and national levels for their talents in the arts, academics, business, civic leadership and athletics. For more information, visit


Save The Music Foundation
Ariel Davis

Cell: 248-802-4760

AASA, The School Superintendent Association
James Minichello 

Director, Communications & Public Relation
(703) 774-6953

Dayton Public School District  
Alexandra Kincaid

Director, Public Information Office