AASA Launches American Rescue Plan Committee


James Minichello 

Alexandria, Va. – July 7, 2021 – Given the critical decisions school districts will be making regarding the implementation of funds received through the American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act of 2021, AASA, The School Superintendents Association, has created a national committee to develop recommendations and insights as schools move toward a safe reopening following the impact left by the COVID-19 pandemic.

AASA’s American Rescue Plan Committee includes more than 30 superintendents, as well as representatives from several national organizations including the Association of Education Services Agencies, the Association of School Business Officials International and the Council of Chief State School Officers. AASA’s government cooperative procurement partner, Sourcewell, is a key supporter in this initiative. 

“We must be unified in ensuring that the public and Congress are well informed about how federal funds are being spent, especially given the variety of needs each district has,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “The committee members are all outstanding leaders in public education. Their contributions will be invaluable as we work to sustain programs and services beyond the funding cycle.”

The American Rescue Plan Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ARP ESSER) Fund provides nearly $122 billion to states and school districts to help safely reopen and sustain the secure operation of schools.

“It is critical for this committee to provide input concerning the spending and potential roadblocks that can make the allocation process challenging for a variety of school districts,” said Kristi Wilson, superintendent, Buckeye (Ariz.) Elementary School District, and 2020-21 president of AASA. “We also need the flexibility to ensure time and engagement to promote positive and productive planning.”

“AASA applauds this comprehensive investment on behalf of all of our nation’s young learners,” added Domenech. “Our public K-12 schools rely on and work in coordination with early education and post-secondary institutions, including preschools and community colleges.”

Click here to view specific details of ARP that are pertinent to AASA members.

For more information, visit the AASA website. For specific questions, please contact Noelle Ellerson Ng, AASA associate executive director, advocacy and governance, at nellerson@aasa.org.


AASA’s American Rescue Plan Committee members include: 

Scott Brabrand
Superintendent, Fairfax County Public Schools
Falls Church, Va.

Shari Camhi
Superintendent, Baldwin Union Free School District
Baldwin, N.Y.

Gillian Chapman
Superintendent, Teton County School District #1
Jackson, Wyo.

Michael Conner
Superintendent, Middletown Public Schools
Middletown, Conn.

Wanda Cook-Robinson
Superintendent, Oakland Schools
Waterford, Mich.

Jay Curtis
Superintendent, Park County School District #1
Powell, Wyo.

Phil Downs
Superintendent, Southwest Allen County Schools
Fort Wayne, Ind.

Peter Finch
Acting Superintendent, West Valley School District
Yakima, Wash.

Justin Henry
Superintendent, Goddard Unified School District 265
Goddard, Kan.

Gregory Hutchings
Superintendent, Alexandria City Public Schools
Alexandria, Va.

Paul Imhoff
Superintendent, Upper Arlington City Schools; AASA President-Elect
Upper Arlington, Ohio

Jesus Jara
Superintendent, Clark County School District
Las Vegas, Nev.

Bryan Johnson
Superintendent, Hamilton County Schools
Chattanooga, Tenn.

Curtis Jones
Superintendent, Bibb County School District
Macon, Ga.

Dwight Jones
Senior Deputy Superintendent, Denver Public Schools
Denver, Colo.

Doug Lambert
Superintendent, Grant County Schools
Petersburg, W.Va.

Cathy Moore
Superintendent, Wake County Public School System
Cary, N.C.

Khalid Mumin
Superintendent, Reading School District
Reading, Pa.

Tobin Novasio
Superintendent, Lockwood Schools
Lockwood, Mont.

Debra Pace
Superintendent, The School District of Osceola County
Kissimmee, Fla.

Kamela Patton
Superintendent, Collier County Public Schools 
Naples, Fla.

Christy Perry
Superintendent, Salem-Keizer Public Schools
Salem, Ore.

Mary Ann Ranells
Former Superintendent, West Ada School District
Meridian, Idaho

Michelle Reid
Superintendent, Northshore School District; 2021 AASA National Superintendent of the Year®
Bothell, Wash.

Burke Royster
Superintendent, Greenville County Schools
Greensville, S.C.

Jeannie Stone
Superintendent, Richardson Independent School District
Richardson, Texas

Cosimo Tangorra
Superintendent, Niskayuna Central School District
Niskayuna, N.Y.

Brian Troop
Superintendent, Ephrata Area School District
Ephrata, Pa. 

Julie Vitale
Superintendent, Oceanside Unified School District
Oceanside, Calif.

Ken Wallace
Superintendent, Maine Township High School District 207
Park Ridge, Ill.

Rodney Watson
Superintendent, Spring Independent School District
Houston, Texas

Calvin Watts
Superintendent, Kent School District
Kent, Wash.

Kristi Wilson
Superintendent, Buckeye Elementary School District; AASA President
Buckeye, Ariz.

Dan Gordon
Senior Legal and Policy Advisor

David Lewis
Executive Director
American School Business Officials International

Kirk Miller
Executive Director
School Administrators of Montana

Carissa Moffat Miller
Chief Executive Officer
Council of Chief State School Officers

Joan Wade
Executive Director
Association of Educational Service Agencies

Committee Partner
Chad Coauette
Executive Director/CEO

Bill Otto
Government Relations Associate

Robb Reid
Chief Revenue Officer, Director of Enterprise Solutions


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.