AASA Names 2021 Women in School Leadership Award Finalists

James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

Alexandria, Va. – Nov. 19, 2020 – AASA, The School Superintendents Association, is pleased to announce the finalists for the organization’s 2021 Women in School Leadership Awards. The awards, sponsored by Horace Mann and AASA, pay tribute to the talent, creativity and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in the nation’s public schools.

“Horace Mann is a proud sponsor of the AASA Women in School Leadership Awards. These awards complement AASA’s effort to drive change in American education, and increase the number of women in leadership roles,” said Marita Zuraitis, president and CEO of Horace Mann. “We are committed to encouraging more women to aspire to become lead teachers, principals, administrators and superintendents. Congratulations to our finalists.”

“Our program is designed to recognize the exceptional leadership from exemplary women in public education administration who are making a positive difference in the lives of students every day,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “Recognizing their accomplishments and shining a spotlight on the positive contributions they’re making has been a long-standing tradition of AASA. We are extremely proud of our finalists and look forward to honoring them at our national conference. We thank Horace Mann for partnering with us on this initiative.” 

The finalists are as follows:
The Central Office/Principal Award – awarded to any female central office or building-level leader
  • Tanzy Kilcrease, assistant superintendent of teaching and learning, Bibb County School District, Macon, Ga.
  • Amy Pfender, assistant to the superintendent, Upper St. Clair School District, Upper St. Clair, Pa.

The Superintendent Award – awarded to any female superintendent 

  • Noreen Bush, superintendent, Cedar Rapids Community School District, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Elizabeth Lolli, superintendent, Dayton Public Schools, Dayton, Ohio 

Candidates are judged on leadership in meeting the learning needs of students, personal and organizational communication strength, constant professional improvement of knowledge and skills, and active community involvement.

The final award recipients in each category will be announced during the (virtual) AASA National Conference on Education, Feb. 18-19, 2021. For more information on the Women in School Leadership Awards, please visit the AASA website or contact Jennifer Rooney, AASA director, meetings and awards, at jrooney@aasa.org.


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.