AASA Announces New Leadership

For Immediate Release

James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

Alexandria, Va. – (July 6, 2020) – Five superintendents from across the country were sworn in today as new members of the executive committee of AASA, The School Superintendents Association, the largest organization in the country that serves as the nation’s premier voice for public school system leadership.

The 21-member committee, elected by AASA’s governing board, represents each region of the country. The committee meets quarterly and conducts the ongoing business of the organization.

The new executive committee members include:

“As we continue to navigate through the public health crisis, leveraging the skills of school district leaders throughout the country is necessary to transform public education. I am confident that the outstanding individuals joining the AASA Executive Committee will help provide the voice and guidance we need,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “During this unprecedented time, the AASA Executive Committee’s leadership will be vitally important in our efforts to ensure the safety of our school buildings, classrooms and communities.”

New executive committee members will serve a three-year term. New members also include Blaine Hess of Jackson County Schools in Ripley, W. Va., and Rodney Shotwell of Rockingham County Schools in Eden, N.C. These two superintendents are returning to serve full terms, having previously joined the committee to fulfill someone else’s term.

Kristi Wilson (formerly Sandvik), superintendent of the Buckeye Elementary School District in Buckeye, Ariz., and Paul Imhoff, superintendent of Upper Arlington Schools in Upper Arlington, Ohio, were also sworn in today as the 2020-21 AASA president and president-elect respectively.


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.