AASA Members Selected as NSPRA’s 2018-19 ‘Superintendents To Watch’


James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

Alexandria, Va. – April 3, 2019 – The National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA) is honoring eight AASA members as Superintendents to Watch in the 2018-19 school year. These school system leaders are being honored in recognition for their use of communications technology.

The honorees will be recognized during the NSPRA 2019 National Seminar, to be held in Washington, D.C.

The AASA members recently selected are:

  • Scott Bailey, Desert Sands Unified School District, La Quinta, Calif.
  • Peter Blake, Rome City School District, Rome, N.Y.
  • Jonathan Davis, Circleville City School District, Circleville, Ohio
  • Sean Doherty, School District of Clayton, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Karen Gaborik, Fairbanks North Star Borough School District, Fairbanks, Alaska
  • Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed, Hopkins Public Schools, Hopkins, Minn.
  • Matt Teeter, Willard Public Schools, Willard, Mo.
  • Mary Templeton, Washougal School District, Washougal, Wash.

Since the 2015-16 school year, NSPRA has recognized 58 school district leaders with fewer than five years of experience who have demonstrated dynamic, fast-paced leadership with strong communication at its core.

For more information, visit the NSPRA website


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.