AASA Scholarships Awarded to Top Graduate Students



James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

Los Angeles – Feb. 16, 2019 – Three of the nation’s outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected today by AASA, The School Superintendents Association, to receive scholarships, as announced at AASA’s National Conference on Education in Los Angeles, Calif. 

The conference is serving as a platform to highlight AASA’s Leaders Matter campaign, an initiative to showcase school districts where the exemplary leadership of the superintendent has resulted in meaningful outcomes for schools and students. 

Each recipient received a $2,500 scholarship given in honor of AASA’s former executive directors — Sherwood D. Shankland, Worth McClure, Finis E. Engleman, Forrest E. Connor, Paul B. Salmon, Richard D. Miller and Paul D. Houston.

The 2019 scholarship recipients are:

Terry Dade  
Fairfax County Public Schools    
Fairfax, Va.        

Mit Lee Foley    
Saginaw Public School District    
Saginaw, Mich.    

Oscar Romano   
YES Prep Public Schools   
Houston, Texas     

The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognitionand financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career. AASA selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays and recommendations from university faculty. 

For more information about the AASA National Conference on Education, access Conference Daily Online.


 About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.