Educators Recognized for Completing AASA Urban Superintendents Academy® Programs at National Conference on Education



James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

Los Angeles – Feb. 15, 2019 – In response to the challenges facing public school districts in America’s urban communities, AASA, The School Superintendents Association is pleased to announce the names of the outstanding educators who completed the organization’s Urban Superintendents Academy® programs. The announcement was made at the 2019 National Conference on Education, where hundreds of school system leaders are discussing the most critical issues in public education.  

The conference is also serving as a platform to highlight AASA’s Leaders Matter campaign, an initiative to showcase school districts where the exemplary leadership of the superintendent has resulted in meaningful outcomes for schools and students.       

The Academy is a cross-institutional partnership that offers a dynamic approach to urban superintendent preparation and certification. AASA has launched distinct partnerships with Howard University and the University of Southern California to bolster the effectiveness of school district leadership in our nation’s urban areas.  

AASAs Urban Superintendents Academy® stands second to none when it comes to providing professional development opportunities for the 21st century urban school district leader, said Daniel A. Domenech, AASA executive director. The partnership between AASA, Howard University and the University of Southern California continues to groom aspiring superintendents who wish to become leaders of urban school districts as well as the communities in which these districts are located.

The Urban Superintendents Academy® is recognized as one of the premier programs in the country. Drawing on strengths of its members and partners, AASA brings the most effective and inspiring thought leader practitioners to serve as instructors, mentors and presenters.   

The AASA/Howard University Urban Superintendents Academy® cohort graduates were:

  • Morcease J. Beasley, superintendent, Clayton County Public Schools, Jonesboro, Ga. 
  • Dana Bogle, vice president, leadership development, Teach for America, Washington, D.C.
  • Yolanda M. Cargile, superintendent, Hickman Mills C-1 School District, Kansas City, Mo. 
  • Michael T. Conner, superintendent, Middletown Public Schools, Middletown, Conn.
  • Derrick Lamarr Dunlap, principal, Rochdale Early Advantage School, New Rochelle, N.Y.
  • Anthony Edison, Sr., superintendent, Posen-Robbins School District 143-5, Posen, Ill.
  • Benjamin P. Edmondson, executive vice president, High Scope Educational Research Foundation, Ypsilanti, Mich.
  • Kelvin Edwards, Sr., deputy superintendent, Franklin City Public Schools, Franklin, Va.  
  • LeTrecia Gloster, executive director, school support and improvement, Metro Nashville Public Schools, Nashville, Tenn.
  • Bernice Gregory, chief, human capital management officer, Dekalb County, Dekalb, Ga.
  • James L. Henderson, superintendent, Holmes County Consolidated School District, Lexington, Miss.  
  • Patrick Jean-Pierre, assistant district director, recruitment, retention and diversity, Schenectady City School District, Schenectady, N.Y.
  • Felicia Jones, director, education programs, Martha’s Table, Washington, D.C.
  • Heather Lamb, adult academic coordinator, Virginia Beach City Public Schools, Virginia Beach, Va.  
  • Anthony Lewis, superintendent, Lawrence Public Schools, Lawrence, Kan.
  • Brandon Martin, coordinator, career and technology education, Virginia Beach Public Schools, Virginia Beach, Va.
  • Nicole McDowell, director, alternative programs and charter schools, Racine Unified School District, Racine, Wis.
  • Terry Nelson, director, curriculum and instruction, Hancock County School District, Sparta, Ga.
  • Veronica Diane Perkins, chief academic officer, Little Rock School District, Little Rock, Ark.   
  • Mini’imah Shaheed, chief schools officer, KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools, Atlanta, Ga.
  • Keith Simmons, chief of staff, Bibb County School District, Macon, Ga.
  • Darrin Slade, assistant superintendent, school leadership, Kansas City Public Schools, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Tommy T. Welch, principal, Meadowcreek High School, Norcross, Ga.
  • Stacey M. Wilson-Norman, chief academic officer, Cumberland County Schools, Fayetteville, N.C. 

The AASA/USC Urban Superintendents Academy® cohort graduates were: 

  • Jeanette Rodriguez-Chien, assistant superintendent, San Diego County Office of Education, San Diego, Calif.
  • Roxane Fuentes, superintendent, Berryessa Union School District, San Jose, Calif.
  • Rupak M. Gandhi, superintendent, Fargo Public Schools, Fargo, N.D.  
  • Antoine Hawkins, assistant superintendent, Bassett Unified School District, La Puente, Calif.
  • Kimberly Mackey, executive director of elementary education, Allentown School District, Allentown, Pa.
  • Bryan McGraw, superintendent, North Pocono School District, Moscow, Pa.
  • Shawnterra Moore, superintendent, South San Francisco Unified School District, South San Francisco, Calif.
  • David Parker, superintendent, Forest Grove School District, Forest Grove, Ore.  
  • C. Michael Robinson Jr., educational consultant, Strategic Achievement, LLC, Thibodaux, La.
  • Andrew Schwab, associate superintendent, learning and innovation, Union School District, San Jose, Calif.
  • Jeffery T. Studebaker, superintendent, Madison Consolidated Schools, Madison, Ind.  
  • Robert Valles, associate superintendent, human resources, Oxnard Union High School District, Oxnard, Calif.

For more information about AASA’s Urban Superintendents Academy®,contact Mort Sherman, AASA associate executive director, leadership services and awards, at

For more information about the 2019 National Conference on Education, access AASAs Conference Daily Online.


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit