AASA Names Women in School Leadership Award Finalists


James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

Alexandria, Va. – Nov. 20, 2018 – In keeping with its long-standing tradition of honoring exceptional female educators, AASA, The School Superintendents Association, is pleased to announce the finalists for the organization’s 2019 Women in School Leadership Awards.

“A critical component of AASA’s mission is to help talented women educators strengthen their professional skills, build networks, and bring teaching and learning to new levels in their respective districts,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “This award showcases these exceptional educators and applauds the outstanding work they’re doing. We are extremely proud of our finalists and look forward to honoring them at our national conference.”

The awards are designed to recognize the exceptional leadership of active, front-line female administrators who are making a difference in the lives of students every day and to pay tribute to the talent, creativity and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in the nation’s public schools.

The finalists are as follows:
The Central Office/Principal Award – awarded to any female central office or building-level leader
  • Marie Izquierdo, chief academic officer, Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Miami, Fla.  
  • Tanzy Kilcrease, associate superintendent, Bibb County School District, Macon, Ga.   
The Superintendent Award – awarded to any female superintendent
  • Wanda Cook-Robinson, superintendent, Oakland Schools, Waterford, Mich.  
  • Courtney Orzel, superintendent, Lemont-Bromberek Combined School District 113A, Lemont, Ill.
  • Betsy Webb, superintendent, Bangor School Department, Bangor, Maine   

Candidates are judged based on leadership in meeting the learning needs of students, personal and organizational communication strength, constant professional improvement of knowledge and skills, and active community involvement.

The final award recipients in each category will be announced during the AASA National Conference on Education, Feb. 14-16, 2019, in Los Angeles. For more information on the Women in School Leadership Awards, please visit the AASA website or contact Jennifer Rooney, AASA director, meetings and awards, at jrooney@aasa.org.


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to equitable access for all students to the highest quality public education. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.