2018 AASA/Sourcewell Mini-Grant Recipients

In a typical year, 28 public school districts across the U.S. receive a $2,000 Helping Kids Mini Grant. The program, coordinated by AASA, The School Superintendents Association, and Sourcewell (formerly NJPA), has helped kids in need since 2012. The mini grants have been used for everything from boots and coats to dental care and temporary housing stipends.

Last year was not a typical year.

Through the Mini-Grant program, AASA approved grants of $2,000 each to 28 hurricane-affected school districts in Texas and Florida. Administrators provided direct support to children and families who suffered significant hardships following the devastating storms.

The impacted districts that received support from AASA leveraged those funds for maximum impact to help students, staff, and their community as they recovered from the damage wrought by Hurricanes Harvey, Irma and Maria.  Districts were thoughtful and creative in their use of the funds, stretching dollars to help as many victims as possible. 

School districts receiving funds through the Mini Grant program are: 


Collier County Public Schools

Superintendent: Kamela K. Patton

Duvall County Public Schools

Superintendent: Patricia S. Willis

Hillsborough County Public Schools

 Superintendent: Jeff Eakins

 "HCPS appreciates the assistance to students and families who are suffering from the effects of the devastating hurricane. This grant truly made a difference in the lives of the 28 Spoto students and their families who benefitted from this gift."  

Lee County School District

Superintendent: Gregory K. Adkins

School District of Manatee County

Superintendent: Rick Mills

 Monroe County School District

 Superintendent: Mark T. Porter

Pinellas County Schools

Superintendent: Michael Grego

Sarasota County Public Schools

Superintendent: Todd Bowden


Aldine Independent School District

Superintendent: Wanda Bamberg

 Aransas County Independent School District 

 Superintendent: Joseph T. Patek

 Aransas Pass Independent School District 

 Superintendent: Mark Kemp

Beaumont Independent School District

Superintendent: John Frossard

Clear Creek Independent School District

Superintendent: Greg Smith

 Corpus Christi Independent School District 

 Superintendent: Roland Hernandez

Crosby Independent School District

Superintendent: Keith Moore

Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District

Superintendent: Mark Henry

 "Your generosity was a welcomed surprise for families, because it came at a time when many other agencies were unable to provide much needed support. With so many areas of the Gulf Coast in need, it was truly awesome to have the support of AASA and watch the joy that ensued when we were able help families that needed assistance with such basic items."  

Galena Park ISD

Superintendent: Angi Williams

galena park isd 2018"Wanting to provide meaningful assistance, a district-level committee in this Texas school district selected four of the most severely affected campuses and asked counselors from those campuses to recommend families who would most benefit from the AASA Mini-Grant. Pictured is three of the four families who received assistance through the AASA Mini-Grant, with Galena Park ISD Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Angi Williams."  

Goose Creek Consolidated Independent School District

Superintendent: Randal O'Brien

Gregory-Portland Independent School District

Superintendent: Paul Clore

 "The generous $2,000 mini grant from AASA will be used to provide electronic tablets with learning applications specific to their needs, as well as stability balls and sensory materials. We extend our sincere thanks for your support of these students, and appreciate all you do to serve public schools across the country."  

 Huffman Independent School District

 Superintendent: Benny Soileau

 Ingleside ISD

 Superintendent: Troy Craig Mircovich

 Pasadena Independent School District

 Superintendent: DeeAnn Powell

Port Aransas Independent School District

Superintendent: Sharon McKinney

Spring Branch Independent School District

Superintendent: Joe Scott Muri

Spring Independent School District

Superintendent: Rodney Watson

spring isd 2018"Spring's staff—at all levels—mainly live outside of the district in areas of Houston that were sorely devastated. They were the ones displaced because of the storm, leaving the district without the full staff it needed to operate. AASA mini-grant funds were part of a pot the district developed to help their staff and families recover."  

Taft Independent School District

Superintendent: Joe Lopez

Tuloso-Midway Independent School District

Superintendent: Suzanne Nelson

Refugio Independent School District

Superintendent: Melissa Gonzales

The school districts were recognized at AASA's National Conference on Education. This annual grant program is open to all AASA and Sourcewell members.

If you have any questions, please contact Tara Gao at tgao@aasa.org or call 703-875-0740