AASA Scholarships Awarded to Top Graduate Students


James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

New Orleans – March 4, 2017 – Seven of the nation’s outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected today by AASA, the School Superintendents Association, to receive scholarships, announced at AASA’s National Conference on Education in New Orleans, La.  

Each recipient received a $2,500 scholarship given in honor of AASA’s former executive directors—Sherwood D. Shankland, Worth McClure, Finis E. Engleman, Forrest E. Connor, Paul B. Salmon, Richard D. Miller and Paul D. Houston.

The 2017 scholarship recipients are:
Jason Arledge
University of Mississippi
Oxford, Miss.

Adam Bayne  
Central Michigan University   
Mount Pleasant, Mich. 

Kyle Cassady
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Ky.

Bethany Cumper
Rocky Mountain College
Billings, Mont.

Mykia Olive
Howard University
Washington, D.C.

Jodie Peters
George Mason University
Fairfax, Va.

Andrea Dixon Seahorn
William Woods University
Fulton, Mo.

The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognition and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career. AASA selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays and recommendations from university faculty.
For more information about AASA’s National Conference on Education, click here.

About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.