2016 AASA/Sourcewell Mini-Grant Winners

The 2016 winners by AASA regions are: 

Region 1: 

Franklin Pierce School District (Tacoma, Wash.);

Superintendent: Frank Hewins

Vancouver School District #37 (Vancouver, Wash.);

Superintendent: Steven Webb

"You generous support creates opportunities to provide the fundamental learning tools, enrichment programs, and mentoring opportunities that enhance their educational experience."
- Nada Wheelock, interim executive director, Foundation for Vancouver Public Schools
 Read the full letter here [pdf]

 Moses Lake School District (Moses Lake, Wash.);

 Superintendent: Michelle Price

 Ridgefield School District (Ridgefield, Wash.);

 Superintendent: Nathan McCann

 Region 2: 

 Washington Elementary School District (Glendale, Ariz.)

 Superintendent: Paul Stanton

 Yuma School District One (Yuma, Ariz.)

 Superintendent: Darwin J. Stiffler

 Marana Unified School District (Marana, Ariz.)

 Superintendent: Doug Wilson

 Central Consolidated School District (Shiprock, N.M.) 

 Superintendent: Colleen Bowman


 Region 3: 

 Rapid City Area Schools (Rapid City, S.D.);

 Superintendent: Tim Mitchell

 Intermediate District 287 (Plymouth, Minn.);

 Superintendent: Sandra Lewandowski

 School District of Luck (Luck, Wis.);

 Superintendent: Christopher J. Schultz

 Brainerd Public Schools - ISD #0181-01 (Barinerd, Minn.);

 Superintendent: Robert Gross

 Region 4

 Cook County School District 130 (Blue Island, Ill.);

 Superintendent: Tina Halliman

 Barren County Public Schools (Glasgow, Ky.) 

 Superintendent: Bo Matthews

 Jefferson County Public Schools (Louisville, Ky.);

 Superintendent: Donna M. Hargens

 Riverview Gardens School District (St. Louis, Mo.);

 Superintendent: Scott Spurgeon

"Thank you for your donation to help district families with utility bills." 
- Anna M. Munson, chief financial officer, Riverview Gardens School District
 Read the full letter here [pdf]

  Region 5

 Hillsborough County Public Schools (Tampa, Fl.);

 Superintendent: Jeff Eakins

 Sylacauga City Schools (Sylacauga, Ala.);

 Superintendent: Todd Freeman

 Clarke County School District (Athens, Ga.);

 Superintendent: Philip Lanoue

 Fairfax County Public Schools (Fairfax County, Va.);

 Superintendent: Karen K. Garza


 Region 6

 Long Branch Public Schools (Long Branch, N.J.); 

Superintendent: Michael Salvatore

Northwestern Lehigh School District (New Tripoli, Pa.);

Superintendent: Mary Anne Wright

Warren County School District (Warren, Pa.); 

Superintendent: William A. Clark

School District of Lancaster (Lancaster, Pa.); 

Superintendent: Damaris Rau


 Region 7

 Fitchburg Public Schools (Fitchburg, Mass.);

 Superintendent: Andre Ravenelle  

 Roosevelt Union Free School District (Hempstead, N.Y.);

Superintendent: Marnie Hazelton

Wareham Public Schools (Wareham, Mass.);

Superintendent: Kimberly Shaver-Hood

Orleans Central Supervisory Union (Barton, Vt.);

Superintendent: Donald Van Nostrand

"The donated money was used to purchase food for families as students entered the winter vacation. Families receiving the backpacks filled with nutritious food responded with great appreciation." 
- Donald Van Nostrand, superintendent, Orleans Central Supervisory Union
 Read the full letter here [pdf]
Winners were recognized at AASA’s National Conference on Education. This annual grant program is open to all AASA and Sourcewell (formerly NJPA) members.

 If you have any questions, please contact Tara Gao at tgao@aasa.org or call 703-875-0740