Arizona Superintendent Gail Pletnick Named AASA President-Elect


James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

Alexandria, Va. – (July 13, 2016) –  Gail Pletnick, superintendent of Dysart Unified School District 89 in Surprise, Ariz., was sworn in today as the 2016-17 president-elect of AASA, The School Superintendents Association.

“Our superintendents are the critical drivers in our country when it comes to creating positive change in public education,” said Pletnick. “AASA is all about raising the bar on behalf of school district leadership, high-quality teaching and greater student outcomes. I am honored to represent my state of Arizona, as well as the nation, in my new role as president-elect.” 

Pletnick, the 2016 Arizona Superintendent of the Year, has been a member of AASA’s governing structure since 2008 and has served on the organization’s executive committee since 2013. She has also been a member of the Arizona School Administrators Association since 2002.  

“As we work to reach more superintendents in our efforts to strengthen school districts in America, we are excited to have Gail Pletnick as our new president-elect,” said Daniel A. Domenech, AASA executive director. “Gail has a proven track record in public education leadership both regionally and nationally. She will continue to be a tremendous asset to AASA as well as to our school system leaders from coast to coast.”      

Pletnick began her tenure as superintendent of Dysart Schools in 2007. She was an assistant superintendent in the district beginning in 2004.  

Alton L. Frailey, superintendent of the Katy Independent School District in Katy, Texas, was sworn in as AASA president. The installation ceremony was held in conjunction with AASA’s Legislative Advocacy Conference in Washington, D.C.



About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association
, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, visit