AASA Scholarships Awarded to Top Graduate Students

James Minichello


703-774-6953 (cell)


Phoenix, Ariz. – Feb. 13, 2016 – Seven of the nation’s outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected today by AASA, the School Superintendents Association, to receive scholarships, announced at AASA’s National Conference on Education in Phoenix, Ariz. 

Each recipient received a $2,500 scholarship given in honor of AASA’s former executive directors—Worth McClure, Finis E. Engleman, Forrest E. Connor, Paul B. Salmon, Richard D. Miller and Paul D. Houston. 

The 2016 scholarship recipients are:

  • Vincent Brancato/Arizona State University /Tempe, Ariz.
  • Shon Hocker/Idaho State University/Pocatello, Idaho
  • Helen Joung/University of Washington/Seattle, Wash.
  • Robert King/Western Kentucky University/Bowling Green, Ky.
  • Walter Lundy/Howard University/Washington, D.C. 
  • Kimberly MacKinney/University of Southern California/Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Robert Steckel/Lehigh University/Bethlehem, Pa.  

The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognition and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career. AASA selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays and recommendations from university faculty.

For more information about AASA’s National Conference on Education, click here. 


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.