Nation’s School System Leaders Convene in Phoenix for AASA’s 2016 National Conference on Education


James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)  

National Superintendent of the Year to be announced at NCE

Alexandria, Va. – December 1, 2015 – Hundreds of superintendents, America’s foremost education thought leaders, will convene in Phoenix, Feb. 11-13, 2016, for the National Conference on Education, hosted by AASA, The School Superintendents Association.

Themed “Leading for Excellence,” the gathering will address some of the most critical issues in education, including the Common Core State Standards, governance and district management, healthy school environments, innovative technology, instructional leadership, personalizing education, poverty and equity, and superintendent/school board relationships.

The 2016 National Superintendent of the Year will be announced and the second class of AASA National Superintendent Certification participants will be recognized for their completion of the prestigious program.

Keynote speakers at the conference will include:

  • Manny Scott, CEO, Ink International Inc., (Feb. 11)
  • Shawn Achor, author, International Thought Leader Network, (Feb. 12)
  • Michael Horn, Co-Author, Blended: Using Disruptive Innovate to Improve Schools, (Feb. 13)

From start to finish, educators will have the opportunity to follow the activities and conversations through AASA’s Conference Daily Online. The award-winning publication provides a comprehensive look at the conference proceedings, including coverage of key speakers, award winners and AASA governance activities, plus photo and video galleries.

The conference hashtag is #NCE16. For more information about the 2016 National Conference on Education, visit


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association
, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA advocates for the highest quality public education for all students, and develops and supports school system leaders.