People Watch

PW - BourffAllen B. Bourff

After a decade at the helm of the Richmond Community Schools in Richmond, Ind., Allen Bourff has assumed the superintendency at Hamilton Southeastern Schools in Fishers, Ind. Prior to that, he served as high school principal and then superintendent in Knox, Ind. Bourff, who earned an Ed.D. from Indiana University, Bloomington, received the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents’ State Superintendent of the Year award in 2008. He has been an AASA member since 1991.


PW - BracyElie M. Bracy III

The 15,000-student Portsmouth, Va., school district has welcomed Elie Bracy as its new superintendent. A longtime North Carolina administrator, he served as superintendent in Weldon, N.C., for the past nine years and was voted the state’s Northeast Regional Superintendent of the Year in 2013. Bracy began his career as a guidance counselor, then filled various leadership roles, including director of elementary education in Northampton County, N.C., and middle school principalships in Halifax and Dudley, N.C. He holds an Ed.D. from Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., and has been an AASA member since 2006.


PW - ChangJune M. Chang

June Chang has taken over leadership of the Summit, N.J., Public Schools. He was appointed to the district’s top post after four years in Midland Park, N.J., where he served as director of curriculum, instruction and professional development, as well as a high school assistant principal. Chang began his career as a language arts and English teacher at the middle and high school levels. He also worked as the district curriculum supervisor and Holocaust education program supervisor in Jersey City, N.J. Chang has been an AASA member since 2013.


PW - CulverTimothy R. Culver

After 17 years as superintendent of the 8,000-student Sun Prairie, Wis., district, Timothy Culver is taking the top berth of the Oak Creek Franklin Joint School District in Oak Creek, Wis. Previously, he spent more than a decade as assistant principal, principal and assistant superintendent in Marysville, Wash. Culver, an AASA member since 1992, began his career as a school counselor and drama coach in Everett, Wash. He earned his Ed.D. at Seattle University.



PW - NylandLarry L. Nyland

Larry Nyland, an AASA member since 1978, has moved from interim to permanent superintendent in Seattle, Wash. He came out of retirement to lead the 52,000-student district in 2014. Nyland earlier was superintendent in Marysville, Wash., for nine years. He also served in top posts in Shoreline and Pasco, Wash., as chief academic officer and human resources director at Highline Public Schools and as director of the Superintendent Program at Seattle Pacific University. He was a 2007 finalist for National Superintendent of the Year. Nyland earned his Ed.D. from the University of Washington.


PW - WatsonRandall D. Watson

Lifelong Kansas educator and administrator Randall Watson has been selected as the state’s commissioner of education. Watson has served as superintendent in McPherson, Kan., since 2005 and was assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction there for 12 preceding years. He began his career as a social studies teacher, then was assistant principal and principal at the high school level in Concordia, Kan. He has been an adjunct professor at three institutions, most recently Baker University. Watson, an AASA member since 1993, holds an Ed.D. from Kansas State University.


James A. Crisfield, from superintendent, Millburn, N.J., to superintendent, Wissahickon School District, Ambler, Pa.

Brian Hartwell, from high school principal, Oswego, N.Y., to superintendent, Pulaski, N.Y.

James V. McLaughlin, from superintendent, West Milford, N.J., to superintendent, North Plainfield, N.J.

Manuel Rivera, from superintendent, Norwalk, Conn., to superintendent, New London, Conn.

Michael Robey, from superintendent, Melrose Park, Ill., to superintendent, Lombard Elementary District 44, Lombard, Ill.

Quintin Shepherd, from superintendent, Skokie, Ill., to superintendent, Linn-Mar Community School District, Marion, Iowa

G. Brian Toth, from superintendent, Bellwood Antis School District, Bellwood, Pa., to superintendent, St. Marys, Pa.



Ed Alexander, superintendent, Elizabethton, Tenn.

Randy Boroff, superintendent, Revere Local Schools, Bath, Ohio

Scott Elliff, superintendent, Corpus Christi, Texas

Tom Grant, superintendent, School District 43, Coquitlam, B.C., Canada

J.D. Kennedy, superintendent, McKinney, Texas

Richard Markwardt, superintendent, Beachwood, Ohio

Carolyn Medlock, superintendent, Macon County, Ga.

Linda Shifflette, superintendent, Hampton, Va.

John Weaver, superintendent, Montague, Mich.

David Wellington,superintendent, Spring Valley, Wis.



Denver J. Fowler, assistant principal, Gahanna Middle School South, Gahanna, Ohio, named 2015 State Assistant Principal of the Year in Ohio

Maggie V. Shook, superintendent, Thomaston-Upson Schools, Thomaston, Ga., received Georgia School Superintendents Association’s Bill Barr Leadership Award



Tom Collins, 59, retired superintendent, Waxahachie, Texas, Jan. 31

Robert S. Dubik, 61, retired superintendent, Cazenovia, N.Y., Nov. 13

Robert “Dan” Nolan, 76, retired superintendent, Manatee County, Fla., Jan. 9

Bob Watson, 70, retired superintendent, Grant Elementary School District, Redding, Calif., Dec. 30


News about AASA members’ promotions, retirements, honors and deaths should be addressed to: Editor, School Administrator, 1615 Duke St., Alexandria, VA 22314. Fax: 703-841-1543. E-mail: