AASA Scholarships Awarded to Top Graduate Students


James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell)

  AASA Scholarships Awarded to Top Graduate Students  

San Diego, Calif. – Feb. 28, 2015 – Three of the nation’s outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected today by AASA, the School Superintendents Association, to receive scholarships during AASA’s 150th anniversary celebration at its National Conference on Education in San Diego, Calif.

Three recipients each received a $2,500 check in honor of AASA’s former executive directors—Sherwood D. Shankland, Worth McClure, Finis E. Engleman, Forrest E. Connor, Paul B. Salmon, Richard D. Miller and Paul D. Houston.

The 2015 scholarship recipients are:

Michael K. Bunch
Gustine Middle School
Gustine, Calif.

Eugene Figueroa
Dean of Students
New York City Dept. of Education
New York, N.Y.

Benjamin J. Ploeger
Eagle Ridge Academy High School
Brighton, Colo.

The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognition and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career. AASA selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays and recommendations from university faculty.

For more information about AASA’s National Conference on Education, click here. 


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.