People Watch                            Page 78


People Watch



Kenneth R. Hamilton
As the new superintendent in Mount Vernon, N.Y., Kenneth Hamilton brings more than 25 years of leadership experience from various New Jersey school districts, most recently as superintendent of Monroe Township Public Schools since 2009. Hamilton, who began his career as a special education teacher in the early 1980s, also worked as assistant superintendent in Cherry Hill and superintendent in Westampton. He holds an Ed.D. in educational leadership from Nova Southeastern University in Miami, Fla. He joined AASA in 2007.


James J. Hayes Jr.
After retiring from 10 years in the superintendency in Newmarket, N.H., and Beverly, Mass., Jim Hayes has taken the helm as interim principal of 530-student Lincoln Street School in Exeter, N.H. Hayes, who has spent 43 years in education, earlier held high school principalships in Melrose, Mass., and Milford, N.H. He began his career as a math teacher and coordinated a districtwide computer education program in Plaistow, N.H. An AASA member since 1999, he holds an Ed.D. in educational leadership from Boston University.


Courtney L. Orzel
Lemont-Bromberek Con-solidated School District 113A in Lemont, Ill., has welcomed Courtney Orzel as its new superintendent. An Illinois native, she comes to Lemont from Forest Ridge Elementary School District 142 in Oak Forest, Ill., where she served as superintendent since 2013 and middle school principal for seven years. Orzel began her education career as a language arts and English teacher. She is an adjunct professor at Governors State University’s College of Edu-cation in University Park, Ill. An AASA member since 2014, Orzel holds an Ed.D. in educational organization and leadership from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Ruth Pérez
Ruth Pérez brings 27 years of experience to her new role as deputy superintendent of instruction of the Los Angeles Unified School District. She previously served as chief academic officer of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools in Charlotte, N.C., then became superintendent of the Norwalk-La Mirada Unified School District in Los Angeles County. A Puerto Rico native, Pérez started as a high school English literature and ESOL teacher in Kissimmee, Fla. A two-year AASA member, she earned her Ed.D. in educational leadership at Nova Southeastern University in Orlando, Fla.

 PW-Sherwood Karen L. Sherwood
Karen Sherwood has assumed the superintendency in Kalkaska, Mich., a 1,600-student district in the state’s Lower Peninsula. She previously worked as superintendent in the neighboring Boyne Falls, Mich., Public Schools for four years. Sherwood earlier was a middle school principal in Boyne City, Mich., where she also served as the district’s grievance chair and chief negotiator. During two decades of teaching, she taught various elementary grades in Boyne City and Taylor, Mich. Sherwood has been an AASA member since 2012.

Renée T. Willis
A Cleveland, Ohio, area educator for 24 years, Renée Willis has assumed the top post of the Richmond Heights, Ohio, Local School District. She spent three years prior running a consulting firm, Responding to Challenges, and teaching at Cleveland State University. Previously, Willis was chief strategic implementation officer and chief transformation officer for the Cleveland Metropolitan School District and an educator over 16 years in the Cleveland Heights-University Heights City Schools. An AASA member since 2014, Willis received her Ph.D. in urban education from Cleveland State.



Chuck Brimbury, from superintendent to athletic director, Peru High School, Peru, Ind.
Timothy Connellan, from superintendent, Oxford, Conn., to superintendent, Southington, Conn.
Craig A. Cooke, from interim superintendent to superintendent, Windsor, Conn.
Marty Lane Crawford, from superintendent, West Independent School District, West, Texas, to superintendent, Tyler, Texas
Theresa DeFranco, from superintendent, Margate, N.J., to superintendent, Absecon, N.J.
Mark Flatau, from superintendent, Cle Elum-Roslyn School District, Cle Elum, Wash., to superintendent, Kalispell, Mont.
David J. Glover, from superintendent, Morristown, N.Y., to superintendent, Salem, N.Y.
Mike Kopakowski, from superintendent, Middle Township Public Schools, Cape May Court House, N.J., to superintendent, Morrisville, Pa.
Tonie McDonald, from assistant superintendent, Plainedge, N.Y., to superintendent, Levittown, N.Y.


Robert Belluzzo, superintendent, Hibbing, Minn.
Randal Braun, superintendent, Cameron, Wis.
Dianne Critchlow, superintendent, Fox C-6 School District, Arnold, Mo.
Eric Golden, superintendent, Howell Township, N.J.
Kim Hart, superintendent, Whitmore Lake, Mich.
Rod Kessler, superintendent, Johnson County, Wyo.
Diane Messer, superintendent, Dodgeville, Wis.
Mary Monroe Kolek, superintendent, New Canaan, Conn.
Frank Mitchell, superintendent, Vilonia, Ark.
Charles Molloy, superintendent, Otego-Unadilla Central School District, Otego, N.Y.
Basan Nembirkow, superintendent, Southbridge, Mass.
Bill Pearson, superintendent, South Lyon, Mich.
William Perry, superintendent, Augusta, Wis.
David Teplesky, superintendent, Monticello, N.Y.



William C. Bosher Jr., 68, retired superintendent, Chesterfield County, Va., Nov. 30
Robert Dubik, 61, retired superintendent, Cazenovia, N.Y., Nov. 13
Lloyd C. Nielsen, 88, retired superintendent, Roseville, Minn., and AASA past president, Nov. 5
Karen Perry, 51, superintendent, Morrisonville, Ill., Dec. 5

News about AASA members’ promotions, retirements, honors and deaths should be addressed to:

School Administrator
1615 Duke St.
Alexandria, VA 22314
Fax: 703-841-1543.



Give your feedback

Share this article

Order this issue