People Watch                                                 Page 46


People Watch


Margaret T. Allen
A veteran in the Montgomery, Ala., Public Schools, Margaret Allen has been promoted from interim to permanent superintendent. Allen has held several central-office administrative posts, including professional development director, personnel evaluation coordinator and elementary executive director. She also has worked in Montgomery as an elementary school principal, assistant principal at a magnet school and special education teacher starting in 1976. She became a member of AASA in 2013.


John E. Jungmann
John Jungmann will take over the superintendency in Springfield, Mo., after serving the past two years in Liberty, Mo., as superintendent and deputy superintendent. Prior, Jungmann spent 10 years with the Monett, Mo., school district as superintendent, middle school principal and assistant high school principal. Jungmann began his education career in Lamar, Mo., as a high school English teacher and coach. A member of AASA for six years, he is serving as president-elect of the Missouri Association of School Administrators in 2013-14. Jungmann has an Ed.D. from University of Arkansas.


Thomas J. Kakabar
The Conemaugh Township Area School District in Davidsville, Pa., welcomed Thomas Kakabar as its new superintendent. He led the Penns Manor Area School District in Clymer, Pa., since 2006. Prior, Kakabar spent eight years as a site administrator in Portage, Pa., serving as a high school principal and assistant high school principal. He began his education career with the Forest Hills School District in Sidman, Pa., as a social studies teacher and varsity basketball coach. Kakabar has been a member of AASA for three years.


Christina M. Kishimoto
After 13 years as an educator in Connecticut, Christina Kishimoto will assume the superintendency in Gilbert, Ariz., in July. She has led the Hartford, Conn., schools since 2011 and previously managed district development of new school designs. Kishimoto earlier spent four years as an educational consultant with the Connecticut Department of Education and eight years in higher education. A two-year AASA member, Kishimoto earned an Ed.D. from Columbia’s Teachers College.


Christopher W. McGinley
Christopher McGinley, superintendent of the Lower Merion School District in Ardmore, Pa., since 2008, has accepted an associate professor position with Temple University’s College of Education. Previously, McGinley spent two years as executive director of the Delaware County Intermediate Unit in Morton, Pa., and five years with the School District of Cheltenham Township in Elkins Park, Pa., as superintendent and assistant superintendent. McGinley also held several administrative positions in Philadelphia. A member of AASA since 2003, McGinley earned a doctorate at University of Pennsylvania.


Jeffrey J. Porter
The newly appointed superintendent in the 2,000-student Maine School Administrative District 51, supervising the Maine communities of Cumberland and North Yarmouth, is Jeff Porter. Since 2007, he served as assistant superintendent in Biddeford, Maine. Previously, Porter worked as principal of Lyseth Elementary School in Portland, Maine; principal of Songo Locks School in Administrative District 61 in Naples, Maine; and teaching principal at Warren Village School in School Administrator Unit 23 in Warren, N.H. He has been a member of AASA since 2007.


Gregory J. Baracy,
superintendent, Westland, Mich.

David Behlow, superintendent, North Shore School District 112, Highland Park, Ill.

Jack J. Boak, superintendent, Jefferson-Lewis BOCES, Watertown, N.Y.

Robert Coad, executive director, ARIN Intermediate Unit 28, Indiana, Pa.

Suzanne Cusick, superintendent, Longview, Wash.

Bill Denton, superintendent, Yukon, Okla.

Art Edgerly, superintendent, Ridgefield, Wash.

Randy Flack, superintendent, Knoxville, Iowa

Michael Green, superintendent, Easton Public Schools, North Easton, Mass.

Clay Guthmiller, superintendent, Johnston, Iowa

Edgar B. Hatrick II, superintendent, Loudoun County, Va., and AASA past president

Daniel Jett, superintendent, West Metro Education Program, Minneapolis, Minn.

Gil Kettelhut, chief administrator, Educational Service Unit 3, Omaha, Neb.

Ben Kiser, superintendent, Gloucester, Va.

Wesley Knapp, superintendent, Midd-West School District, Middleburg, Pa.

Karen List, superintendent, West Hartford, Conn.

Maggie Lopez, superintendent, Pueblo, Colo.

Donald P. Lucas, superintendent, Burlington County Special Services District and Burlington County Institute of Technology, Burlington, N.J.

Lynn Macan, superintendent, Cobleskill, N.Y.

Kathleen Nogay, superintendent, Slippery Rock, Pa.

Jeff Olson, superintendent, Saint Peter, Minn.

Kathryn Orban, superintendent, York, Pa.


Reginald Mayo, former superintendent, New Haven, Conn., honored with naming of Dr. Reginald Mayo Early Learning School

James E. Richmond, former superintendent, Charles County, Md., honored with naming of James E. Richmond Science Center at St. Charles High School

Craig J. Tice, superintendent, Marcellus, N.Y., named chair-elect, Middle States Association Commission on Secondary Schools, Philadelphia, Pa.

Thomas Tucker, superintendent, Worthington, Ohio, named Superintendent of the Year by National Alliance of Black School Educators

News about AASA members’ promotions, retirements, honors and deaths should be addressed to:
Editor, School Administrator
1615 Duke St.
Alexandria, VA 22314
Fax: 703-841-1543.


Give your feedback

Share this article

Order this issue