Nation’s School System Leaders to Gather in Nashville for AASA’s 2014 National Conference on Education

James Minichello
703-774-6953 (cell) 

National Superintendent of the Year to be announced at NCE

Alexandria, Va. – January 22, 2014 School system leaders will gather at the Music City Center in Nashville for the National Conference on Education, the annual meeting of AASA, The School Superintendents Association, on Feb. 13-15, 2014.

Co-sponsored by Aramark Education, VALIC and AASA, the 2014 National Superintendent of the Year will be announced on Thursday, Feb. 13, 2014, at NCE’s opening session. The four finalists include:

• Alberto Carvalho, Miami-Dade Public Schools, Miami, Fla.

• Terry Grier, Houston Independent School District, Houston, Texas

• Kevin Maxwell, Anne Arundel County Public Schools, Annapolis, Md. (currently Prince George’s County Public Schools)

• Michele Taylor, Calhoun City Schools, Calhoun, Ga.

The conference, designed exclusively for school superintendents, will address some of the most important issues in education today, including the Common Core Standards, governance and executive leadership, innovations in district management, superintendent partnerships, and student achievement and accountability.

Featured speakers will include (in order of appearance):

Feb. 13

• Irma Zardoya, CEO and president, New York City Leadership Academy

• Heath Morrison, superintendent, Charlotte-Mecklenburg (N.C.) Schools

• Keith Krueger, CEO, Consortium for School Networking

• Aimee Rogstad Guidera, founder, executive director, Data Quality Campaign

• Alan Blankstein, president, HOPE Foundation

• Randy Weingarten, president, American Federation of Teachers

• Nicco Mele, author, The End of Big: How the Internet Makes David the New Goliath; faculty, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

• Stephen Fink, executive director, University of Washington Center for Educational Leadership

• Max Silverman, associate director, University of Washington Center for Educational Leadership

• Michael Copland, senior program officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

• Josh Edelman, senior program officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

• Michele Norris, award-winning journalist, author of the best-selling memoir, The Grace of Silence (Feb. 13) (General Session)

Feb. 14

• David Kirp, professor of public policy, University of California at Berkeley

• Ramona Bishop, superintendent, Vallejo (Calif.) City Unified School District

• Sharon Contreras, superintendent, Syracuse (N.Y.) City School District

• Michael Thompson, director, Council of State Governments’ Justice Center

• Dan Heath, senior fellow at Duke University’s CASE Center and best-selling author (General Session)

• Jeffrey Charbonneau, 2013 National Teacher of the Year

• Mark Edwards, superintendent, Mooresville Graded School District (N.C.); 2013 AASA National Superintendent of the Year

• Deborah Delisle, assistant secretary for elementary and secondary education, U.S. Department of Education

• David Novak, chairman and CEO, Yum! Brands (General Session)

Feb. 15

• Tom Gentzel, executive director, National School Boards Association

• J. Alvin Wilbanks, superintendent, Gwinnett County (Ga.) Public Schools

• Glenn Pethel, assistant superintendent of leadership development, Gwinnett County (Ga.) Public Schools

• Toni Ferguson, principal, Gwinnett County (Ga.) Public Schools

• Craig Kielburger, co-founder, Free the Children (General Session)


For media assistance, contact James Minichello at 703-774-6953 or


About AASA
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 10,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, visit Follow AASA on Twitter at or on Facebook at Information on AASA Children’s Programs on Twitter @AASATotalChild.