People Watch                                                   Page 54


People Watch


Brad A. Buck
Veteran Iowa educator Brad Buck is the state’s new director of the department of education after two years as superintendent of the Saydel Community School District in Des Moines. Previously, Buck spent five years in Waukee, Iowa, Community Schools as associate superintendent and assistant superintendent for school improvement. Before moving into district administration, he worked 15 years as a middle and high school principal and a middle school science teacher. An AASA member since 2006, Buck holds a Ph.D. in educational leadership and policy studies from Iowa State University.


Ben E. Cox
After 13 years as superintendent for the North Pike School District in Summit, Miss., Ben Cox has accepted the superintendency in Brookhaven, Miss. In North Pike, he spent four years as assistant superintendent, staff development coordinator and high school principal. Prior, Cox worked for six years at Pearl River Central High School in Carriere, Miss., as an administrator and math teacher. A member of AASA for six years, he holds a Ph.D. in educational administration from the University of Southern Mississippi.


Steve M. Flores
Steve Flores is the new superintendent in the 46,500-student Round Rock, Texas, school district. He accepted the position after five years as superintendent in Harlingen, Texas, and three years as chief of staff and deputy superintendent for school support services in Dallas. Flores previously held various school- and district-level administration positions in Texas schools, including an assistant superintendency in Round Rock. He has been a member of AASA for 14 years and holds a Ph.D. in educational administration from the University of Texas at Austin.


Robert G. Hasson
The Maine School Management Association has welcomed Robert Hasson as its new deputy executive director. In this role, he also serves as executive director of the Maine School Superintendents Association. A member of AASA for 12 years, Hasson is a longtime Maine administrator, having spent 13 years as superintendent of School Administrative District 51 based in Cumberland Center. He earlier worked for eight years in Wells as assistant superintendent, K-8 principal and special services director. Hasson’s education career started as a teacher in Portland, Maine. He holds an Ed.D. from Boston College.


Katherine W. Joyce
The new executive director of the North Carolina Association of School Administrators is Katherine Joyce, who was the association’s interim director on three past occasions and the chief lobbyist for 10 years. Previously, Joyce worked as a government affairs specialist for the North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives and as a legislative affairs specialist for the State Employee Association of North Carolina. She earlier was a public relations specialist and a newspaper reporter and editor. She joined AASA in 2013.


A.J. Rogers
The West Virginia Association of School Administrators appointed A.J. Rogers its executive director. He previously worked two years as executive director of Regional Education Service Agency Four in Summersville, W.Va. He also was an educator for a quarter-century in Webster County, W.Va., where he spent four years as superintendent after various posts in central administration overseeing adult education and maintenance and transportation. He also was a dropout prevention coordinator, an assistant principal and a teacher. Rogers has been a member of AASA since 2013.


Joseph Barrow, from superintendent, Ware County, Ga., to superintendent, Fayette County, Ga.

Regina Lemerich Botsford, from assistant superintendent, Ridgewood, N.J., to superintendent, Pomperaug Regional Schools, Middlebury, Conn.

Andrew Cook, from principal to superintendent, Hartford, N.Y.

Richard Faidley, from superintendent, Derry Township, Pa., to superintendent, Boyertown, Pa.

Floyd Fort, from superintendent, Stewart County, Ga., to superintendent, Pelham, Ga.

Garth Harries, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, New Haven, Conn.

Danny Hayes, from superintendent, Whitfield County, Ga., to superintendent, Berrien County, Ga.

David Kellogg, from superintendent, Cossatot River School District, Wickes, Ark., to superintendent, Eureka Springs, Ark.

Allen Kicklighter, from director of federal programs, Burke County, Ga., to superintendent, Miller County, Ga.

Teresa Lawrence, from director of curriculum, Clarence, N.Y., to superintendent, Grand Island, N.Y.

Chris Lindholm, from superintendent, Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District, Burnsville, Minn., to superintendent, Pequot Lakes, Minn.

James Lynch, from superintendent, Medford Lakes, N.J., to superintendent, East Greenwich, R.I.

Lee McFerren, from assistant to the superintendent, Farrell, Pa., to superintendent, Wilkinsburg School District, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Andy Pattee, from superintendent, Charles City, Iowa, to superintendent, Cedar Falls, Iowa


Thomas Abraham,
superintendent, Hartford, N.Y.

Mary Jane Gales, executive director, Capital Area Intermediate Unit, Summerdale, Pa.

Richard Organisciak, superintendent, New Rochelle, N.Y.


Anthony Amato,
66, former superintendent, Hartford, Conn., Dec. 2

David M. Brown, 71, retired superintendent, Derry, N.H., Nov. 18

William P. Morris, 71, AASA president, 1991-92, and retired superintendent, Monroe County Intermediate School District, Monroe Charter Township, Mich., Dec. 9

John Goodspeed Stuart, 87, superintendent emeritus, Aurora, Colo., Oct. 23


News about AASA members’ promotions, retirements, honors and deaths should be addressed to:
School Administrator
1615 Duke St.
Alexandria, VA 22314
Fax: 703-841-1543.



















Give your feedback

Share this article

Order this issue