People Watch                                                   Page 50


People Watch



Vance A. Dalzin
A Wisconsin school leader for 22 years, Vance Dalzin has moved into the superintendent’s position with the Fox Point-Bayside School District in suburban Milwaukee. Most recently, he was the superintendent in Williams Bay, Wis., for two years. Previously, Dalzin spent 12 years as a high school principal in Whitewater, Wis. His experience includes service as a principal, assistant principal and social studies teacher in several Wisconsin districts. An AASA member since 2011, Dalzin earned his Ed.D. from Edgewood College in Wisconsin.


Sara E. Johnson
The Sumner, Wash., district has a new superintendent in Sara Johnson. She worked for four years in the 5,200-student Lincoln County, Ore., district as an assistant superintendent and director of human resources. Johnson also held principalships in the Oregon districts of McMinnville and Harney County. She was Oregon Principal of the Year in 2007. Johnson, who earned her doctorate in educational leadership at George Fox University in Newberg, Ore., has been an AASA member since 2009.


Hertica Y. Martin
A native of the Caribbean island of Nevis, Hertica Martin has assumed her first superintendency in Springfield, Ore. Martin spent the last three years as executive director of elementary and secondary education in Rochester, Minn. Her earlier berths included executive director for teaching and learning in the Central Kitsap Schools in Silverdale, Wash., and director of professional and organizational development in Tacoma, Wash. Martin, an AASA member for six years, completed her doctorate at Fielding Graduate University in Santa Barbara, Calif.


Zachary J. McLaughlin
Zachary McLaughlin, an AASA member since 2012, is the new superintendent in Springfield, Vt. The move comes after a year as the district’s assistant superintendent. McLaughlin earlier spent a year as director of curriculum, instruction and assessment and another year as assistant principal of Springfield High School. Prior, he held teaching roles across New Hampshire, Massachusetts and Maine, as well as internationally in Moruleng, South Africa, through the Peace Corps, and in Liaoyang, China, teaching English.


Jeanne Stroh
Ottawa, Kan., Unified School District 290 has a new superintendent in Jeanne Stroh. An administrator for 15 years, she most recently served as assistant superintendent in the Hutchinson, Kan., Unified School District 308. An AASA member for four years, Stroh previously was director of elementary education in Hutchinson and an elementary school principal in Wamego, Kan. She also served for 16 years as a teacher of grades K-6 and high school English. She holds an Ed.D. from Kansas State University.


Elizabeth D. Swinford
After a three-year run as superintendent of the 9,000-student Vicksburg Warren School District in Vicksburg, Miss., Elizabeth Swinford has moved into the top district post of the Tuscaloosa County, Ala., schools. She previously worked for seven years in Louisiana's East Baton Rouge Parish Schools as associate superintendent for human resources and as a principal in the Morongo Unified School District in Twentynine Palms, Calif. An AASA member since 2012, Swinford earned her Ed.D. in organizational leadership from Nova Southeastern University.



William A. Clark,
from education consultant, Solanco, Pa., to superintendent, Warren, Pa.

Brian Dietz, from superintendent, Waseca, Minn., to superintendent, Centennial School District 12, Circle Pines, Minn.

Ruben Frutos, from interim superintendent to superintendent, Rowland Unified School District, Rowland Heights, Calif.

Lisa Harrod, from assistant superintendent, Steger, Ill., to superintendent, Manteno, Ill.

David Janofa, from superintendent, Sandy Valley Local School District, Magnolia, Ohio, to superintendent, Poland, Ohio

Robert Kobylski, from superintendent, Menasha, Wis., to superintendent, Nicolet High School District, Glendale, Wis.

Brendan Minnihan, from superintendent, Sunapee, N.H., to superintendent, Contoocook Valley Regional School District, Peterborough, N.H.

Thomas E. Muzzey, from superintendent, Warren County, Mo., to superintendent, Orchard Farm School District, St. Charles, Mo.

Susan Pratt, from superintendent, Union, Maine, to superintendent, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, Rangeley, Maine

Whitney K. Vantine, from superintendent, Tonawanda, N.Y., to consultant, Wendel Companies, Buffalo, N.Y.

Lee Westrum, from superintendent, Benson, Minn., to superintendent, Wadena-Deer Creek Public Schools, Wadena, Minn.

Andrew Wise, from business and operations manager to superintendent, Olympia Community Unit School District 16, Stanford, Ill.


Robert J. Klitzman,
superintendent, Eastern Pulaski Community School Corp., Winamac, Ind.

Lalo Ponce, superintendent, Community High School District 94, West Chicago, Ill.

Barry Rabinovitch, superintendent, Wareham, Mass.

Laval Wilson, superintendent, Poughkeepsie, N.Y.


Fran Sicola Cardwell,
73, retired superintendent, Lufkin, Texas, July 18

Robert J. Munnelly, 79, retired superintendent, Reading, Mass., July 25

Gary Neis, 54, superintendent, Pecatonica School District, Blanchardville, Wis., June 25

Everett Williams, 82, retired superintendent, New Orleans, La., July 28

News about AASA members’ promotions, retirements, honors and deaths should be addressed to:
Editor, School Administrator
1615 Duke St.
Alexandria, VA 22314
Fax: 703-841-1543.


Give your feedback

Share this article

Order this issue