AASA Scholarships Awarded to Six Top Graduate Students

Contact: Kitty Porterfield, kporterfield@aasa.org, 703-774-6953

Alexandria, Va., Feb. 21, 2013. Six of the nation's outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected by the American Association of School Administrators to receive scholarships during AASA’s 2013 National Conference on Education in Los Angeles, Calif.

The six award recipients will each receive a $2,500 check at the awards ceremony on Feb. 21. Each recipient also receives complimentary registration to AASA's national conference. Each scholarship is named in honor of a former AASA executive director.

The 2013 scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order of recipient, and the university at which each is pursuing doctoral studies, are:

Doris CrawfordWorth McClure Award
Doris Lynette Crawford, director of secondary schools, Shelby County Public Schools, Ky.;
Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond, Ky.
Thomas FryFinis E. Engleman Award
Thomas Fry, Jr., director of curriculum and instruction, Granville Exempted Village Schools, Ohio; Ashland University, Ashland, Ohio
Courtney HartForrest E. Connor Award
Courtney Elise Hart, coordinator of assessment and accountability, Lewisville Independent School District, Texas; The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, Texas
Leigh Anne NealPaul B. Salmon Award
Leigh Anne Neal, K-12 central office administrator, Shawnee Mission School District, Kan.; Baker University, Baldwin City, Kan.
Frederick RundleRichard D. Miller Award
Frederick Dennis Rundle, elementary principal, Mercer Island School District, Wash.; Seattle University, Seattle, Wash.
Dannette SokacichPaul D. Houston Award
Danette Tiffany Sokacich, assistant principal and teacher, Dr. Pedro Albizu Campos Puerto Rican H.S., Ill; Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago, Ill.

The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognition and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career. AASA, which sponsors the yearly scholarship awards, selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays about their qualifications and recommendations from university faculty.

About AASA
The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. The mission of AASA is to advocate for the highest quality public education for all students, and develop and support school system leaders. For more information, visit www.aasa.org. Follow AASA on twitter at www.twitter.com/AASAHQ. Become a fan of the AASA Facebook page at www.facebook.com/AASApage.

# # # # #