AASA Scholarships Awarded to Seven Top Graduate Students

Contact: Kitty Porterfield, kporterfield@aasa.org, 703-774-6953

Alexandria, Va., Feb. 9, 2012. Seven of the nation's outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected by the American Association of School Administrators to receive scholarships during AASA’s 2012 National Conference on Education in Houston, Tex.

The seven award recipients will each receive a $2,500 check at the awards ceremony on Feb. 18. Each recipient also receives complimentary registration to AASA's national conference. Each scholarship is named in honor of a former AASA executive director.

The 2012 scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order of recipient, and the university at which each is pursuing doctoral studies, are:

S. D. Shankland Award
Robert E. Bostic, director of school leadership and instructional technology,
Denton Independent School District, Tex.; University of North Texas, Denton, Tex.

Forrest E. Connor Award
David Lee Dimmett, senior vice president/chief communications officer, Project Lead the Way, Clifton Park, N.Y.; Indiana University, Bloomington, In.

Worth McClure Award
Anne Tybor Hoover, middle school principal, Palmyra Area School District, Pa.;
Widener University, Chester, Pa.

Paul B. Salmon Award
David Grant Hornak, elementary principal, Holt Public Schools, Mich.; Central Michigan University, Mt. Pleasant, Mich.

Finis E. Engleman Award
Michael S.W. Knox, principal, Celebrate the Children, School for Children with Alternative Learning Styles, Wharton, N.J.; Kean University, Union, N.J.

Richard D. Miller Award
Jennifer Ruth Kubista, director of student life, Tacoma Public Schools, Wash.; Seattle University, Wash.

Paul D. Houston Award
Lisa Hackel Young, coordinator of 21st learning and professional development, Carroll Independent School District, Tex.; University of North Texas, Denton, Tex.

The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognition and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career. AASA, which sponsors the yearly scholarship awards, selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays about their qualifications and recommendations from university faculty.


About AASA
The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. The mission of AASA is to advocate for the highest quality public education for all students, and develop and support school system leaders. For more information, visit www.aasa.org. Follow AASA on twitter at www.twitter.com/AASAHQ. Become a fan of the AASA Facebook page at www.facebook.com/AASApage.

# # # # #