Benny L. Gooden Elected AASA President-Elect Executive Committee Positions Filled


Contact: Kitty Porterfield, 703-774-6953,

Arlington, Va., April 8, 2011. Benny L. Gooden, superintendent of the Fort Smith Public Schools, Fort Smith, Ark., has been elected the 2011-12 president-elect of the American Association of School Administrators. Gooden is presently a member of the AASA Executive Committee and previously served on its Governing Board. He has been a member of the organization since 1980.

"Benny has held active leadership roles in public education for more than 30 years,” said AASA President Ed Hatrick, superintendent of Loudoun County (Va.) Public Schools. “We are fortunate indeed that Benny will now continue to serve AASA in this new position. He brings a wealth of experience to the job.”

“Today more than ever, our work on behalf of public schools is critical,” said Gooden. “My experience in both rural and urban school districts has shaped my understanding of the disparate needs and issues facing schools in our country. I am honored to accept this new role and look forward to continuing to advocate for the needs of all children.”

Gooden has served as superintendent in Fort Smith since 1986. Previously, he held superintendencies in the Boonville R-I School District, and the Crawford County R-I School District, both in Missouri. He is a visiting assistant professor at the University of Arkansas Fayetteville. Gooden has served on numerous statewide commissions and task forces and served as president of the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators in 2007-08. He is well known in AASA as the director of the Singing Superintendents. Gooden received a B.A. from Harding University, a M.Ed. from the University of Arkansas, and an Ed.D. from the University of Missouri.

In the AASA Executive Committee elections, the following individuals were elected to three-year terms on the Executive Committee: Rob Slaby, superintendent, Storey County School District, Nev.; Bart Goering, superintendent, Spring Hill School District, Kan.; David Schuler, superintendent, Township High School District 214, Ill.; Kim Stasny, superintendent, Oxford School District, Miss.; and Tom Morton, Sparta Township Public Schools, N.J.

“Benny will play a key role in shaping and advancing AASA’s mission in the coming years,” said AASA Executive Director Daniel Domenech. “This organization is fortunate to have many strong leaders among its members. We welcome all the new members of the Executive Committee who join our work to realize our shared vision of high-quality public education for all students.”

All the newly elected officials will begin their terms on July 1. Pat Neudecker, superintendent of Oconomowoc, Wis., Area Schools, will be installed as 2011-12 AASA president and Gooden will be sworn in as 2011-12 AASA president-elect during a ceremony in Washington, D.C., in July. An additional special election will be held to fill the seat of recently resigned Executive Committee member Ron Lankford, Mo.


About AASA

The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across America and in many other countries. AASA advocates for the highest quality public education for all students, and develops and supports school system leaders.For more information, visit Follow AASA on twitter at or on Facebook at


# # # # #