2011 AASA Architectural Awards to Manassas Park (Va.) Elementary School and the Energy Laboratory, Hawaii Preparatory Academy

Contact: Kitty Porterfield,703-774-6953, kporterfield@aasa.org

ARLINGTON, Va., Feb. 17, 2011 – An elementary school in Manassas Park, Va., and a science lab in a preparatory academy in Kamuela, Hawaii, will receive top honors in the American Association of School Administrators’ 2011 Architectural Awards competition. The awards will be presented at an awards ceremony, Feb. 18 at AASA’s National Conference on Education in Denver.

The Shirley Cooper and Walter Taylor Awards recognize architects for excellence in educational facilities planning, design and renovation. Projects range from early childhood education facilities to colleges and universities. Winners are chosen by a jury panel of representatives from the sponsoring organizations: AASA, the American Institute of Architects and the Council of Educational Facility Planners, International. (The awards are named in honor of Shirley Cooper, an educator, and Walter Taylor, an architect.)

2011 Shirley Cooper Award

VMDO Architects, PC of Charlottesville, Va., were architects for the Manassas Park Elementary School, Manassas Park, Va., City Schools. Thomas DeBolt is superintendent of the schools.

According to the jurists, this building is an effective use of architecture to reinforce learning. It houses a wide range of collaboration spaces and offers a creative response to the design challenges presented. The building provides an extraordinary connection between indoor and outdoor environments and is an outstanding example of a learning environment that instills a sense of stewardship in students.

2011 Walter Taylor Award

Flansburgh Architects of Boston were architects for the Energy Laboratory, Hawaii Preparatory Academy. Lindsay Barnes Jr. is the headmaster.

This two-story, high school science building is dedicated to the study of alternative energy. The building is fully sustainable and is certified LEED Platinum. The jury was impressed by the designers’ ability to meet their design goals by the selection of materials, harnessing wind for natural ventilation, the optimization of solar orientation, and the use of rooftop photovoltaic panels, rainwater catchments and daylight harvesting. They noted that the building strengthens the connection between indoors and outdoors and creates harmony with the Hawaiian landscape.

Honorable Mentions
2011 Citation Honorable Mentions were awarded to

  • Park City High School, Park City School District, Park City, Utah. Ray Anthony, superintendent. VCBO Architecture, LLC, Salt Lake City
  • Washington-Lee High School, Arlington County Public Schools, Arlington, Va. Patrick Murphy, superintendent. Grimm + Parker Architects, McLean Va.
  • Maplewood-Richmond Heights Early Childhood Center, Maplewood-Richmond Heights School District, St. Louis. . Linda Henke, superintendent. Bond Wolfe Architects Inc., St. Louis
  • Meldrum Science Center, Westminster College, Salt Lake City. Michael S. Bassis, president. VCBO Architecture, LLC, Salt Lake City

The designs of the winning schools will be on display at the Architectural Exhibition and Design Show held within the 2011 AASA National Conference on Education, Feb. 17-19, in Denver. Photos of the winning projects can be found at http://aasa.org/content.aspx?id=1708

About AASA
The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across the United States. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, visit www.aasa.org. Follow AASA on twitter at www.twitter.com/AASAHQ or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AASApage.

# # # # #