AASA Scholarships Awarded to Seven Top Graduate Students

January 29, 2009

Amy Vogt


Seven of the nation's outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected by the American Association of School Administrators to receive $2,000 scholarships during AASA’s 2009 National Conference on Education, Feb. 19-21, in San Francisco.

AASA selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays about their qualifications and recommendations from university faculty, including the dean of the graduate school in which they are enrolled.

Each recipient also receives complimentary registration to AASA's national conference. Each scholarship is named in honor of a former AASA executive director. The most recent scholarship was added this year in honor of Paul D. Houston, who retired in June 2008.

AASA is the sole sponsor of the Educational Administration Scholarship Awards. The 2009 scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

Amanda C. Alice, of Marysville, Ohio, winner of the Worth McClure Award. She is pursuing a doctorate at Ashland University in Ohio. She is the special education coordinator for the Educational Service Center of Franklin County in Columbus, Ohio, and has begun teaching as an adjunct professor at Ashland University. Previously, she taught as a special educator in Marysville, Ohio, and Rantoul, Ill.

Alice holds a master’s degree from Ashland and a B.S. in education from Bowling Green State University.

Cynthia Renee Blansfield, of Sumner, Wash., winner of the Forrest E. Connor Award. She is working on a doctoral degree at Seattle University. Blansfield is director of secondary student learning in the Auburn School District in Auburn, Wash. She previously worked in the district as administrator for career and technical education and a business education teacher and as a program supervisor with the state education agency.

Blansfield earned a master’s degree in education and a B.A. in education, both from Eastern Washington University in Cheney, Wash.

Peter Sundin Carpenter II, of Forest Hill, Md., winner of the S.D. Shankland Award. He is a doctoral student at Wilmington University in New Castle, Del. Carpenter serves as instructional facilitator for several elementary schools in the Harford County Public Schools in Abingdon, Md.. He earlier was an assistant principal and elementary school teacher.

He received a master’s in administration from McDaniel College in Westminster, Md., and a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Towson University.

Brandon Heath Core, of College Station, Texas, winner of the Finis Engleman Award. He is pursuing a doctorate at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. Core works as a principal of Anderson-Shiro Junior High/Senior High School in Anderson, Texas. He previously served as an assistant principal of schools in Dayton, Texas, and Navasota, Texas.

He received his master’s in education from Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, Texas, and his B.S. from McNeese State University in Lake Charles, La.

Ricardo Z. Medina, of San Jose, Calif., winner of the Paul D. Houston Award. He is working on his doctorate at Nova Southeastern University. He works as a deputy superintendent in the Pajardo Valley Unified School District in Watsonville, Calif. Earlier, Medina was a superintendent over seven years in two California systems, Central Union High School District and Bridgeport. He is president-elect of the Association of Latino Administrators and Superintendents and previously served on the AASA Governing Board.

Medina earned his M.A. from Michigan State University and two bachelor’s degrees from Eastern Michigan University and Saginaw Valley College in University Center, Mich.

Margaret Lowell Rice, of Ridgefield, Wash., winner of the Richard D. Miller Award. She is pursuing a doctoral degree at Heritage University in Toppenish, Wash. She is in her first year as dean of students at the Clark County Skills Center in the Evergreen School District in Vancouver, Wash. She earlier was a teacher of health, nutrition and consumer economics in Vancouver.

Rice received a master’s in education at Heritage University and a B.S. in Central Washington University in Ellensburg, Wash.

Matthew R. Seaton, of Lawrenceville, Ill., winner of the Paul B. Salmon Award. He is working on a doctorate at Eastern Illinois University in Charleston, Ill. He is a second-year high school principal in the Red Hill Community Unit School District in Bridgeport, Ill. He previously was a director of music at the high school.

Seaton earned an M.S. in education and a bachelor’s in music education, both at Eastern Illinois University.


About AASA
The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across the United States. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, visit www.aasa.org.