AASA Scholarships Awarded to Seven Top Graduate Students

Jan. 25, 2010

Amy Vogt (AASA)

ARLINGTON, Va. - Seven of the nation's outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected by the American Association of School Administrators to receive $2,500 scholarships during AASA’s 2010 National Conference on Education in Phoenix, Ariz., Feb. 11-13.

AASA, which sponsors the yearly scholarship awards, selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays about their qualifications and recommendations from university faculty, including the dean of the graduate school in which they are enrolled.

Each recipient also receives complimentary registration to AASA's national conference. Each scholarship is named in honor of a former AASA executive director.

The 2010 scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

Robert R. Bravo, of Pasadena, Calif., is the winner of theRichard D. Miller Award. He is pursuing a doctoral degree in educational leadership at U.C.L.A.

He works as coordinator of charter schools with the Los Angeles Unified Schools. Earlier Bravo was an assistant superintendent in the Antioch, Calif., Unified Schools and a principal in Gilroy, Calif.

Bravo holds a master’s degree and a bachelor’s degree from U.C.L.A.

Monique A. Darrisaw, of Brooklyn, N.Y., is the winner of the Paul B. Salmon Award. Darrisaw is pursuing her doctorate in education leadership at Seton Hall University.

She serves as a high school principal in Brooklyn. Earlier, she was director of the Office of Social Studies and Multicultural Education and administrator for social studies, both with the New York City Public Schools.

Darrisaw holds master’s and bachelor’s degrees from Brooklyn College.

Kim M. Hanks, of West Peoria, Ill., is the winner of the Paul D. Houston Award. She is enrolled in the education specialist’s program at Western Illinois University, which leads to superintendent certification.

She is an assistant principal in Bartonville, Ill. Hanks previously served as principal of a middle school in Galesburg, Ill., and a middle school reading coach in Peoria, Ill.

Hanks earned both master’s and bachelor’s degrees from Illinois State University.

Eric O. Haugeberg, of Belton, Texas, is the winner of the Finis E. Engleman Award. He is working on his doctoral degree in educational administration at Texas A&M University.

He works as assistant superintendent for finance and operations in the Belton Independent School District. Earlier, he was director of research and testing in Belton and a high school principal in Stockdale, Texas.

Haugeberg holds master’s degrees from both University of Texas at San Antonio and Florida State University and a bachelor’s degree from Baylor University.

Laura A. McDermott of Elizabeth, Ind., is the winner of the Forrest E. Connor Award. She is pursuing a doctoral degree in educational leadership at Indiana University.

McDermott is principal of an elementary school in Elizabeth, Ind. Previously she worked as a principal in Corydon, Ind.

McDermott holds master’s and bachelor’s degrees from Indiana University.

Rosanna G. Mucetti of Oakland, Calif., is the winner of the Worth McClure Award. She is working on a doctorate in educational leadership at California State University East Bay at Hayward.

She is an elementary school principal in Hayward, Calif. She earlier was an assistant principal and English learner specialist, also in Hayward.

Mucetti holds a master’s degree from California State East Bay in Hayward and a bachelor’s degree from University of California at Berkeley.

Corinne D. Pflug-Tilton of Snoqualmie, Wash., is the winner of the S.D. Shankland Award. She is working on a doctorate in educational leadership at Seattle University.

She is an elementary school principal in the Snoqualmie Valley, Wash., School District. Earlier she was administrator on special assignment in Snowqualmie.

Pflug-Tilton earned a master’s degree and two bachelor’s degrees at Western Washington University.

About AASA
The American Association of School Administrators, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders across the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, please visit www.aasa.org.

                                                   # # #