Paul A. Cruz

Following a four-year stint as superintendent in Laredo, Texas, Paul Cruz has rejoined the Texas Education Agency as deputy commissioner for dropout prevention and initiatives. He earlier was assistant superintendent in San Benito, Texas.

Libia S. Gil
After almost nine years in the top post with the Chula Vista, Calif., Elementary School District, Libia Gil has accepted the position of chief academic officer for the New American Schools in Arlington, Va. Gil, whose career started as a teacher in Los Angeles, previously worked as an area administrator and assistant superintendent in Seattle.

James L. Pughsley
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg, N.C., schools have a new superintendent in their deputy superintendent of the past four years, James Pughsley. He came to the district in 1996 from Virginia beach, Va., where he held the interim superintendency for a year after serving as deputy superintendent. Pughsley was also superintendent in Monroe, La.

Hank Rubin
Hank Rubin is now the joint dean of education for the South Dakota State University in Brookings and the University of South Dakota in Vermillion. For the past two years, Rubin has served as associate superintendent for the Center for Students, Families and Communities and as special assistant to the state superintendent of public education in Ohio.

Frederick Donald Saul
A former national superintendent of the year, Don Saul, has assumed the top berth with the Lake Washington Public Schools in Redmond, Wash. Saul spent the past two years as a consultant to the International School in Bangkok, Thailand, following seven years as superintendent of the Thompson School District in Loveland, Colo.

Richard Thompson
Following a second stint as state superintendent for Mississippi, Richard Thompson has been named vice president for university-school programs at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill. Thompson also served earlier as deputy state superintendent in North Carolina and superintendent in Tupelo, Miss.



Harry Austin, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Turner Unified School District, Kansas City, Kan.

Timothy P. Connors, from superintendent, Danbury, Conn., to superintendent, White Plains, N.Y.

Mark Dietz, from superintendent, Susquenita School District, Duncannon, Pa., to superintendent, Wyomissing, Pa.

Randal Eckart, from superintendent, Princeton, Minn., to superintendent, West Bend, Wis.

John K. Halfhill, from director of secondary education to superintendent, Southmoreland School District, Scottdale, Pa.

Dick Harlan, from superintendent, Stockton, Kan., to superintendent, Twin Valley Unified School District, Bennington, Kan.

Phil Hintz, from superintendent, Newton, Iowa, to superintendent, McHenry, Ill.

Chris Kastler, from superintendent, Caney Valley School District, Caney, Kan., to assistant superintendent, Labette County Unified Schools, Altamont, Kan.

Don Marchant, from superintendent, Lead, S.D., to superintendent, McCook, Neb.

Orlin Milner, from superintendent, Rose Hill.., Kan., to superintendent, Jackson Heights Unified Schools, Holton, Kan.

Jerald Nesland, from superintendent, New York Mills, Minn., to executive director, Northwest Service Cooperative, Thief River Falls, Minn.

John Regan, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, South Washington County School District, Cottage Grove, Minn.

Robert G. Rogers, from superintendent, Scott-Morgan Community Unit School District, Bluffs, Ill., to executive director, Association of Illinois Rural and Small Schools, Macomb, Ill.

Gerald B. Rosati, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Ephrata, Pa.

Larry Schmidt, from superintendent, Conrad Weiser Area School District, Robesonia, Pa. to superintendent, Palmyra Area School District, Palmerton, Pa.

Charles Stockton, from superintendent, Lorraine, Kan., to superintendent, Clay County, Kan.

Morgan Arp, superintendent, Fannin County Schools, Blue Ridge, Ga.

Robert Berardi, superintendent, Milford, Mass.

Elke Blackburn, superintendent, Palmyra Area School District, Palmerton, Pa.

David Bowman, superintendent, Canton, Ohio

Harry F. Brooks, superintendent, Broadalbin-Perth Central Schools, Broadalbin, N.Y.

Richard Brooks, superintendent, Coweta County Schools, Newnan, Ga.

Vann Dollar, superintendent, Washington County Schools, Sandersville, Ga.

Weston T. Hyde, superintendent, Oswego BOCES, Mexico, N.Y.

William Leary Jr., superintendent, Springfield Township School District, Oreland, Pa.

Alan Lindquist, superintendent, Ephrata, Pa.

Barbara Van Otterloo, superintendent, Orange, Calif.

Larry Waldrep, superintendent, Laurens County Schools, Dublin, Ga.

Charles Walker, superintendent, Wyomissing, Pa.

Renee Williams, superintendent, Benton Harbor, Mich.

Michael Wiziarde, superintendent, Benton Harbor, Mich.

Duane "Boomer" Wright, superintendent, Mapleton, Ore.

Daniel D. Drake, professor of education, Cleveland State University, received 2002 Distinguished Faculty Award for Service.

Donald Kirkegaard, superintendent, Britton, S.D., named chair of the board of trustees of the North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement, Tempe, Ariz.

Miles E. Turner, executive director, Wisconsin Association of School District Administrators, received the 2002 Chairman's Award for Outstanding Service from the Education Commission of the States, Denver, Colo.