Betty F. Baitland

After serving for six years as an area superintendent and a year as interim superintendent, Betty Baitland moves into the superintendency at Fort Bend Independent School District in Sugar Land, Texas. Baitland has worked in Fort Bend schools for more than 20 years, starting as a high school English teacher.

Stephen Dolinger
Stephen Dolinger has assumed the presidency of the nonprofit Georgia Partnership for Excellence in Education in Atlanta after a seven-year stint as superintendent of the Fulton County, Ga., system. He was named the Georgia School Superintendent of the Year in 2001. Dolinger earlier spent 26 years in the Fairfax County, Va.

Michael Harris
Michael Harris has left the superintendency of Sioux Center, Iowa, Community Schools to become associate superintendent for human resources in the Guilford County Schools in Greensboro, N.C. Harris earlier served as director of human resources for the Williamson County Schools in Franklin, Tenn., where he was also a principal.

Manuel Rodriguez
Taking over his first superintendency, Manny Rodriguez moves to Roswell, N.M., after serving as associate superintendent of curriculum and instruction for the Rio Rancho, N.M., Public Schools. Previously Rodriguez was principal of Sam Rayburn High School in Pasadena, Texas, and Las Cruces High School in Las Cruces, N.M.

Ronald O. Ross
Following four years as superintendent in Mount Vernon, N.Y., Ron Ross has joined the National Urban League, based in New York City, as the first Dr. Israel Tribble Jr. Distinguished Fellow for Urban School Reform. Ross previously was deputy superintendent in Hempstead, N.Y. He spent 25 years in the New York City Public Schools.

Richard A. Stedry
Richard Stedry is the new chief business officer for the Hacienda La Puente Unified School District in City of Industry, Calif. He came to the district from the Temple City, Calif., Unified Schools, where he served in the same capacity. Stedry also was associate superintendent with the Ysleta Independent School District in El Paso, Texas.


Bruce R. Brown, from assistant superintendent for student achievement, Glenview, Ill., to superintendent, Mount Prospect, Ill.

Arthur Culver, from superintendent, Longview, Texas, to superintendent, Champaign, Ill.

Richard Curtis, from superintendent, Harrington, Maine, to superintendent, Jackman, Maine

Mark T. Dietz, from superintendent, Susquenita School District, Duncannon, Pa., to superintendent, Wyomissing, Pa.

Nicolas Ferguson, from deputy superintendent, Riverside, Calif., to superintendent, Moreno Valley, Calif.

Buddy Hooper, from superintendent, Hamilton, Kan., to superintendent, Cedar Vale, Kan.

Don Iglesias, from assistant superintendent, Santa Cruz, Calif., to deputy superintendent, San Jose, Calif.

Jerry Johnson, from interim superintendent to superintendent, Somerville, Texas

Joseph A. Lewis, from assistant superintendent, Pocono Mountain School District, Swiftwater, Pa., to superintendent, Bethlehem, Pa.

T. C. "Chris" Mattocks, from assistant dean, College of Education, Idaho State University, to superintendent, Bellingham, Mass.

Alexander Meta, from acting superintendent to superintendent, Moon Township, Pa.

Belinda Lee Pustka, from assistant superintendent, Killeen, Texas, to superintendent, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City Schools, Schertz, Texas

Mark Weisner, from superintendent, Hughes Spring, Texas, to superintendent, Luling, Texas

Guillermo Zavala Jr., from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Harlandale School District, San Antonio, Texas

Wilburn O. (Buddy) Echols Jr., superintendent, Coppell, Texas

Gary Elmen, assistant superintendent, Indian Prairie School District, Naperville, Ill.

Don Fuhr, professor emeritus of leadership and school administration, Clemson University, Clemson, S.C.

Donald Gentry, superintendent, Tyler, Texas

Gene Garrison, superintendent, Union, Mo.

Jack C. Jordan, superintendent, Harlandale School District, San Antonio, Texas

Keith Larick, superintendent, Tracy, Calif.

Alan Lindquist, superintendent, Ephrata, Pa.

Bonnie McClung, superintendent, La Honda-Pescadero School District, Pescadero, Calif.

Patricia McCollum, superintendent, Stephens County Schools, Toccoa, Ga.

Michael McLaughlin, superintendent, Redding, Calif.

Ben Norman, superintendent, Ankeny, Iowa

Beverly Ouderkirk, superintendent, Genesee Valley BOCES, Batavia, N.Y.

Darwin Peterson, superintendent, Hanson School District, Alexandria, S.D.

Arnold Plank, superintendent, Torrance, Calif.

William J. Ritchie, superintendent, Moreland School District, San Jose, Calif.

Guy Sims, superintendent, Muscogee County Schools, Columbus, Ga.

Patricia Clark White, superintendent, Irvine, Calif.

Walter Wilson, superintendent, Friendswood. Texas

Stephen Young, superintendent, King City, Calif.

Peter Zonca, superintendent, Clairton, Pa.

John Hoeffler, superintendent, Birmingham, Mich., awarded Community Service Award by the Birmingham Community House

Erling Clausen, 74, past president of AASA and retired superintendent, Berkeley Heights, N.J., Aug. 20

Donald Harvick, 74, retired superintendent, Roxana, Ill., July 21

Don Heft, 72, retired superintendent, Pickerington, Ohio, July 2

Paul A. Miller, 89, past president of AASA and retired superintendent, Omaha, Neb., July 22

Kenneth Smith, 56, superintendent, Vanoss, Okla., March 20