Marvin E. Edwards
After 22 years as a superintendent, Marvin Edwards accepted an appointment with Aurora University in Aurora, Ill., as founding director of the Center for Educational Executives. Edwards most recently spent nine years as superintendent in Elgin, Ill. A former Illinois Superintendent of the Year, he also held the top job in Topeka, Kan., Joliet, Ill., and Dallas.

Michael F. Hink
Michael Hink recently returned to the Neshannock Schools in New Castle, Pa., as superintendent after a stint in the same post in the Wilmington Area Schools in New Wilmington, Pa. Earlier Hink worked for eight years in Neshannock as supervisor of curriculum and instruction and principal of the middle school/high school.

Ben Norman
Retirement has been suspended for Ben Norman, who has returned to active duty as director of governmental relations for the School Administrators of Iowa. Norman most recently was superintendent in Ankeny, Iowa, where he worked for 26 years, starting as administrative assistant to the superintendent. He left the superintendency last July.

Elizabeth H. Reynolds
Elizabeth Reynolds has taken over the superintendency of the Maywood-Melrose Park-Broadview School District 89 in Maywood, Ill. Earlier she filled the same post for five years in the Park Forest-Chicago Heights district. Reynolds chairs AASA’s Suburban Schools Advisory Committee.

Mary Ann Straley
The Princeton, Minn., schools have a new superintendent in Mary Ann Straley, whose career began as a media center supervisor in Grand Forks, N.D. She spent the past four years as superintendent in the Glencoe-Silver Lake schools in Glencoe, Minn., and earlier served six years in the top post in Fosston, Minn.

Richard J. Varrati
The New Philadelphia, Ohio, School District has welcomed Richard Varrati as the new superintendent. Varrati comes to this post from the top job with the Cranberry Area School District in Seneca, Pa. In previous administrative assignments, he was principal in the Allegheny- Clarion Valley Schools in Foxburg, Pa., and the Center, Colo., Consolidated Schools.


Charles Blocksidge, from superintendent, Cornell School District, Coraopolis, Pa., to dean of organizational development, Community College of Alleghany County, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Terry Boguth, from superintendent, Inkster, Mich., to superintendent, Coloma, Mich.

William Brelsford, from principal, Madison Junior Senior High School, Middletown, Ohio, to superintendent, Akron-Fairgrove School District, Fairgrove, Mich.

Brad Cressman, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Northwestern Lehigh School District, New Tripoli, Pa.

John Halfhill, from director of secondary education to superintendent, Southmoreland School District, Scottdale, Pa.

H.H. (Buddy) Hooper Jr., from superintendent/principal, Hamilton, Kansas, to superintendent, Cedar Vale, Kansas

John D. Kingsnorth, from superintendent, Romeo, Mich., to superintendent, Fremont, Mich.

William Lessa, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Hatboro-Horsham School District, Horsham, Pa.

Timothy McNamee, from assistant superintendent, Bedford, Pa., to superintendent, Mohawk Area School District, Bessemer, Pa.

James N. Mills, from superintendent, Silver Creek, N.Y., to superintendent, Newfane, N.Y.

Fred Nolan, from superintendent, Eden Valley-Watkins Independent School District, Eden Valley, Minn., to superintendent, Foley, Minn.

Darline Robles, from superintendent, Salt Lake City, Utah, to superintendent, Los Angeles County Office of Education, Downey, Calif.

Karen Rue, from executive director of elementary education, Katy, Texas, to superintendent, Tuloso-Midway Independent School District, Corpus Christi, Texas

John Sawyer, from superintendent, La Porte, Texas, to superintendent, Harris County Department of Education, Houston, Texas

Joshua P. Starr, from director of accountability, Plainfield, N.J., to executive director for operations, Freeport, N.Y.

Scott Staska, from superintendent, Yellow Medicine East School District, Granite Falls, Minn., to superintendent, Rocori Area School District, Cold Spring, Minn.

Thomas Tattan, from superintendent, Clarenceville School District, Livonia, Mich., to superintendent, Waterford, Mich.

Jeff Turner, from superintendent, Burleson, Texas, to superintendent, Coppell, Texas

Robert Urzillo, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Conrad-Weiser Area School District, Robesonia, Pa.

Stephen Waddell, from superintendent, Tuloso-Midway Independent School District, Corpus Christi, Texas, to superintendent, Birdville Independent School District, Haltom City, Texas

Jack Wallington, from assistant superintendent, Wayland, Mich., to superintendent, Bellaire, Mich.

Saul M. Yanofsky, from superintendent, White Plains City School District, White Plains, N.Y., to assistant dean, Westchester Community College, Valhalla, N.Y.


David Fallinger, superintendent, Northwestern Lehigh School District, New Tripoli, Pa.

J. Bruce McKenna, superintendent, Hampton Bays, N.Y.

Edmund Retort, superintendent, Mohawk Area School District, Bessemer, Pa.

Diane Scott, superintendent, Allentown, Pa.

Gerald Strock, superintendent, Hatboro-Horsham School District, Horsham, Pa.


William Bainbridge, president, School Match, Westerville, Ohio, elected to national advisory board, Citizens’ Scholarship Foundation of America, St. Peter, Minn.

James Carter, superintendent, Selma, Ala., received 2002 Congressional Citation from Congressional Black Caucus Education Braintrust and the Education Technology Think Tank, Washington, D.C.

Terry Grier, superintendent, Guilford County, N.C., elected vice president at large, National School Public Relations Association, Rockville, Md.

David Sextro, superintendent, Albion, Iowa, elected member-at-large, National Federation of State High School Associations, Indianapolis, Ind.

Arthur Silvester, retired superintendent, Vershire, Vt., appointed to Connecticut River Valley Flood Control Commission

John O. Simpson, superintendent, Norfolk, Va., received 2002 Richard R. Green Award from Council of the Great City Schools, Washington, D.C.

Arthur Stellar, president and CEO, High/Scope, Ypsilanti, Mich., elected chairman of executive board, National Dropout Prevention Network, Clemson, S.C.