John Kendall Burke
After holding the superintendency almost 10 years with the Neodesha, Kan., public schools, John Burke has moved into the top post in Haysville, Kan. Burke also has held the superintendency in Marion, Kan. He was a 2002 Kansas Superintendent of the Year finalist and served as an elementary and middle school principal in Melvern, Kan.

John R. Harper
John Harper ascends to the superintendency in his 21st year with the Plainfield, Ill., District 202 schools. Harper previously was assistant superintendent for administrative services. He has been the principal of numerous schools in the district, including Timber Ridge Middle School and Grand Prairie Elementary School.

Susan Lockwood
The Alabama Association of School Administrators in Montgomery, Ala., has a new executive director, Susan Lockwood. She was superintendent in Eufaula City, Ala., for seven years and earlier worked as director of secondary schools in Dothan City, Ala. Lockwood is an adjunct professor at Troy State University.

John R. Porter Jr.
Moving back into the superintendency is John Porter, now heading the Ridgewood, N.J., Public Schools. Porter was previously director of the high school division of America’s Choice School Design at the National Center on Education and the Economy in Washington, D.C. Before that he served as superintendent in Oroville, Calif.

Rossi Ray-Taylor
Long-time Michigan educator Rossi Ray-Taylor has been named executive director of the Minority Student Achievement Network in Evanston, Ill. She served as superintendent in Ann Arbor, Mich., for four years and earlier served in several management roles, including deputy superintendent, in Lansing, Mich.

Tim A. Ricker
Tim Ricker will move into the superintendency of the Mehlville School District in St. Louis on July 1. Ricker currently serves as area superintendent. He came to Mehlville in 2001 from the assistant superintendency of the Francis Howell School District in St. Charles, Mo. Earlier he was a principal in Mehlville.



Patrick Burk, from deputy superintendent, Portland, Ore., Public Schools, to deputy superintendent, Oregon Department of Education, Salem, Ore.

Gerald Chapman, from superintendent, Township High School District 212, Palatine, Ill., to associate dean, Roosevelt University’s College of Education, Chicago, Ill.

Bob Hicks, from superintendent, Exeter-West Greenwich Regional School District, West Greenwich, R.I., to superintendent, South Kingstown School District, Wakefield, R.I.

Donald Holder, from superintendent, Preston, Conn., to assistant superintendent, Smithfield, R.I.

Richard H. Montgomery, from superintendent, White Oak, Texas, to superintendent, Windsor, N.Y.

Robert Reina, from assistant superintendent, Whitesboro Central Schools, Yorkville, N.Y., to superintendent, Frankfort-Schuyler School District, Frankfort, N.Y.

Roger Sauer, from superintendent, Willamina, Ore., to senior associate, School Resource Associates, Salem, Ore.

Marcia Ziegler, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, St. Michael-Albertville School District, Albertville, Minn.

Gary Amen, superintendent, Pawnee City, Neb.

Jerry Barabas, superintendent, Fort Calhoun, Neb.

Joseph Caimi, superintendent, St. Clair County Intermediate School District, Port Huron, Mich.

Gerold J. Carozza, superintendent, Washington-Saratoga-Warren-Hamilton-Essex BOCES, Hudson Falls, N.Y.

John Cary, superintendent, Mehlville School District, St. Louis, Mo.

Norma Conner, superintendent, North Olmstead, Ohio

Margaret Daugherty, superintendent, Valley Stream, N.Y.

Cleveland Hammonds Jr., superintendent, St. Louis, Mo.

Wayne D. Lett, superintendent, Newport News, Va.

Gary Oxley, superintendent, Tri-County Public Schools, De Witt, Neb.

David Pisani, superintendent, South Butler County School District, Saxonburg, Pa.

Walter S. Polka, superintendent, Lewiston Porter Central Schools, Youngstown, N.Y.

William Pope, superintendent, Upper St. Clair Township, Pa.

Betty Riddle, superintendent, Clover, S.C.

William A. Shine, superintendent, Great Neck, N.Y.

Stephen Vak, superintendent, Kiski Area School District, Vandergrift, Pa.

J. Hulon Watson, superintendent, Rutherford County Schools, Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Johnnie B. Watson, superintendent, Memphis, Tenn.


David D. Burroughs, 69, retired superintendent, Oxford, N.Y., Sept. 12

Bob Chalender, 72, retired superintendent, Manhattan, Kan., Dec. 28

Harold C. Dishaw, 92, retired superintendent, Marion County, Ore., Feb. 15

N. Bruce Henoch, 76, retired superintendent, Seaman School District, Topeka, Kan., Jan. 3

Orville A. Todd, 89, retired superintendent, Spackenkill Union Free School District, Poughkeepsie, N.Y., Dec. 30

Dana P. Whitmer, 89, retired superintendent, Pontiac, Mich., and former AASA president, Sept. 15

Frank R. Yulo, 73, retired executive director, Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents, Hartford, Conn., Feb. 14

William T. Hiller, superintendent, Mentor, Ohio, appointed to National Institute for Literacy Advisory Board

Glenn F. Smartschan, superintendent, Mt. Lebanon School District, Pittsburgh, Pa., awarded Distinguished Education of the Year Award by the University of Pittsburgh Tri-State Area Study Council