Marsha Chappelow
The National School Public Relations Association has elected a 17-year member of AASA as its president for 2007-08. Marsha Chappelow, assistant superintendent for human resources and communications in the 3,500-student Ladue, Mo., school system, will serve in the post until Sept. 30, 2008. She has 18 years of experience in school communications, the past three in Ladue. Earlier she was an assistant superintendent in Blue Valley, Kan. Chappelow earned her doctorate in education administration from the University of Missouri at Kansas City.

Patrick Cooper
A 10-year tenure as superintendent in McComb, Miss., has ended for Pat Cooper, now serving in New Orleans as chief executive officer of the Early Childhood and Family Learning Foundation, a non-profit, public-private organization. Before McComb, he spent four years as executive director of the Centers for Disease Control’s National School Health Education Coalition in Washington, D.C. Cooper earned a doctorate in administration at University of Northern Colorado.

Carol R. Johnson
The Boston Public Schools have a new chief executive in Carol Johnson, who served since 2003 as superintendent of the 119,000-student Memphis, Tenn., City Schools. Earlier Johnson was superintendent of the Minneapolis Public Schools, where she was named state superintendent of the year. The Tennessee Parent Teacher Association named Johnson its 2007 Tennessee Superintendent of the Year. In March she received AASA’s VH1 Save the Music Award for restoring instrumental music to the schools. Johnson received a doctorate from the University of Minnesota.

Todd D. Lettow
The new superintendent in the 1,230-student Hampton-Dumont School District in Hampton, Iowa, is Todd Lettow, who spent the previous five years as the top school system leader in the Nora Springs-Rock Falls schools in Nora Springs, Iowa. Previously Lettow worked for four years as principal of the Martensdale-St. Mary’s Junior/Senior High School in Martensdale, Iowa, and two years as principal of Chariton Middle School in Chariton, Iowa. His career started as an instrumental music teacher in Chariton. Lettow is past president of the Iowa High School Music Association.

Evan Pitkoff
Following a five-year stint as superintendent in Newtown, Conn., Evan Pitkoff has moved into the executive director’s post of the Cooperative Educational Services in Trumbull, Conn., a regional support organization. Pitkoff earlier spent four years as superintendent of Regional School District 10 based in Harwinton and Burlington, Conn. The immediate past president of the Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents, Pitkoff holds a doctoral degree from Columbia’s Teachers College.

Creg E. Williams
Thornton Fractional High School District 215 in Calumet City, Ill., has named Creg Williams as superintendent. Williams previously worked as superintendent in St. Louis and as a regional superintendent and consultant in Prince George’s County, Md. He also has served as the chief academic officer in Chicago and the deputy chief academic officer in Philadelphia. His career began in vocational teaching in Chicago. Williams earned a doctoral degree in educational administration from Roosevelt University in Chicago. 

Sylvia Atkinson,
from superintendent, Santa Rosa, Texas, to superintendent, Socorro Independent School District, El Paso, Texas

Kathleen Finnerty, from assistant superintendent, Catholic diocese, Wilmington, Del., to superintendent, Catholic diocesan schools, New Orleans, La.

Carlos Garcia, from superintendent, Clark County Schools, Las Vegas, Nev., to superintendent, San Francisco, Calif.

Marcia A. Lukon, from superintendent, Berlin-Boylston Regional School District and Union 60 Schools, Boylston, Mass., to superintendent, Jamestown, R.I.

Kirk Miller, from superintendent, Havre, Mont., to superintendent, Bozeman, Mont.

Darrell Myers, from superintendent, Bridge City, Texas, to superintendent, Livingston, Texas

Mike Redburn, from superintendent, Bozeman, Mont., to professor of Educational Leadership in the College of Education, Health & Human Development at Montana State University

Sharon Richardson, from superintendent, Pottsgrove School District, Pottstown, Pa., to director of legislative services and grant development, Montgomery County Intermediate Unit, Norristown, Pa.

Mike Seale, from chief operations officer, Galena Park Independent School District, Houston, Texas, to chief operating officer, Fort Bend Independent Schools, Sugar Land, Texas

Marc Sosne, from superintendent in residence, University of North Carolina-Wilmington, to superintendent, Clover, S.C.

Alan Storm, from assistant superintendent, Sunnyside Unified School District, Tucson, Ariz., to superintendent, Joint Technological Education District, Tucson, Ariz.

Nicholas Corbo,
superintendent, Exeter Township Schools, Reading, Pa.

David DeSantis, Franklin-Essex-Hamilton BOCES, Malone, N.Y.

David S. Livingston, superintendent, Somerset County Schools, Somerville, N.J.

Jamie Savedoff, superintendent, Lower Merion School District, Ardmore, Pa.

John A. Kriekard, superintendent, Paradise Valley Unified School District, Phoenix, Ariz., recipient of 2007 Bob Grossman Leadership in School Communications Award from National School Public Relations Association

Leland Newcomer,
85, retired superintendent, Grossmont Union High School District, La Mesa, Calif., April 9

Tom Scullen, 68, retired superintendent, Appleton, Wis., May 30