Peggy Buffington
Having spent most of her professional career in Hobart, Ind., Peggy Buffington has been elevated to the school system’s superintendency. She had served as associate or assistant superintendent since 2000 and previously worked in the district as director of technology and an elementary school teacher. Buffington also spent eight years with the Indiana Department of Education as director of technology. Named Indiana Teacher of the Year in 1991, just three years after beginning her career, Buffington holds a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction and educational technology from Purdue University-Calumet.

Ronald G. Cabrera
The new superintendent of the Thompson School District in Loveland, Colo., is Ron Cabrera, the district’s first Hispanic superintendent. He had worked the last three years as deputy superintendent of the 10,600-student Adams-County School District in Westminster, Colo. He has filled sundry administrative posts since starting as a teacher in Denver in 1979. These posts include executive assistant for integrated learning in Vancouver, Wash.; curriculum director in Commerce City, Colo.; and high school principal in Boulder, Colo. Cabrera earned a Ph.D. in educational leadership at University of Colorado-Denver.

Elizabeth Celania-Fagen
The Tucson, Ariz., Unified School District has a new superintendent in Elizabeth Celania-Fagen, who spent the past year as associate superintendent in 32,000-student Des Moines, Iowa. She previously worked in Des Moines as executive director of high school programs and in West Des Moines as an associate principal of Valley High School. Earlier she was a principal in Prairie City, Iowa, and began her career as a high school science teacher and tennis coach. An Iowa native, Celania-Fagen holds an Ed.D. in education leadership from Drake University.

John C. Draper
The new president of the Educational Research Service in Alexandria, Va., is John Draper, who since 1999 has served as the executive director of the Council for Leaders in Alabama Schools. He also has served as the state executive for the Alabama affiliates of AASA, NASSP and NAESP. Draper spent six years in principalships at Homewood High School and Oak Mountain Middle School, both in Alabama. After a six-year career in the construction field, he became a science and math teacher in 1982. Draper holds a doctorate in educational leadership from Samford University.

Cynthia C. Elsberry
Following a six-year period as superintendent in 8,000-student Talladega County, Ala., Cindy Elsberry has moved into the top administrative position of the Horry County Schools in Conway, S.C. Elsberry previously was coordinator of special education programs for five years in Talladega. She also was a principal of the R.A. Mitchell Elementary School and the Oscar W. Adams Elementary School, both in Gadsden, after starting as a teacher in Savannah, Ga. Elsberry is the immediate past president of the School Superintendents of Alabama. She carries an Ed.D. in educational administration from University of Alabama.

Michael A. Morgan
After a 10-year run as superintendent of the Barrington, N.H., School District, Mike Morgan has moved into the top position of School Administrative Unit 16 in Exeter, N.H. A 37-year educator, Morgan was a high school social studies teacher and K-12 guidance counselor in New Hampshire before becoming an administrator. In 1981 he started as principal of the only Catholic high school in Wyoming and later served in principalships in New York and New Hampshire before moving to the superintendency in 1998. He is a native of Berlin, N.H.


Gerald Chabot, from superintendent, Blackford County Schools, Hartford, Ind., to superintendent, Lake Central School Corporation, St. John, Ind.

Craig Fiegel, from superintendent, Evergreen Park Elementary School District 124, Evergreen Park, Ill., to superintendent, Plymouth-Canton Community Schools, Plymouth, Mich.

Michael Gallagher, from superintendent, District 53, Pittsfield, Maine, to superintendent, District 59, Madison, Maine, and District 53, Pittsfield, Maine

Charles Hoover, from acting superintendent to superintendent, Greencastle-Antrim School District, Greencastle, Pa.

Bob Lehman, from superintendent, Ackley, Iowa, to superintendent, Winneconne, Wis.

Robert Livernois, from superintendent, Warren Woods Public Schools, Warren, Mich., to superintendent, Warren, Mich.

Kenneth Noah, from superintendent, Gresham-Barlow School District, Gresham, Ore., to superintendent, San Dieguito Union High School District, Encinitas, Calif.

James Henry Russell, from assistant superintendent to superintendent, Texarkana, Texas

John Toleno, from superintendent, North Warren Regional School District, Blairstown, N.J., to superintendent, Stroudsburg, Pa.

Lloyd Treadwell, from interim superintendent to superintendent, DeSoto, Texas

William H. Adams, superintendent, Salem County Vocational Technical Schools, Woodstown, N.J.

Linda Byrnes, superintendent, Arlington, Wash.

James Clor, superintendent, Warren, Mich.

Albert A. Coviello, superintendent, Clinton, Conn.

Perry P. Davis, superintendent, Dover/Sherborn Schools, Dover, Mass.

Robert Fore, superintendent, Merced, Calif., Union High School District

Francis Fregly, superintendent, Marion Center, Pa.

Arthur (Skip) Hanson, superintendent, Exeter, N.H.

Sharron Havens, superintendent, Lonoke, Ark.

Warren Jacobson, superintendent, Glendale, Ariz., Union High School District

John Leach, superintendent, Hobart, Ind.

Nat Lommori, superintendent, Lyon County, Nev.

Sal Luzio Sr., superintendent, Riverside, Pa.

Peggy Lynch, superintendent, San Dieguito Union High School District, Encinitas, Calif.

Paul Mercier, superintendent, Magnolia, Calif.

Joe Pezak, superintendent, Byram Township, N.J.

Bob Schultz, superintendent, Eureka, Calif.

Joseph Tafoya, director, U.S. Department of Defense Education Activity, Arlington, Va.

Katherine Wright, superintendent, Alvord, Calif.

News about AASA members’ promotions, retirements, honors and deaths should be addressed to: Editor, The School Administrator, 801 N. Quincy St., Suite 700, Arlington, VA 22203. Fax: 703-528-2146. E-mail: