Donald Carlisle

Donald K. Carlisle
The Englewood, N.J., Public Schools have a new superintendent in Donald Carlisle. A 30-year veteran in administration, Carlisle previously was superintendent of the 4,200-student Port Chester Public Schools in Westchester County, N.Y., since 2006. Earlier, he worked over 12 years as superintendent in Miller Place, N.Y., Hudson, N.Y., and East Sullivan, Maine. He also held principalships in Willis, Houston and Livingston, all in Texas. An AASA member since 1997, Carlisle earned an Ed.D. in educational leadership from Nova Southeastern University.

Vincent Cotter 

Vincent F. Cotter
The American Society for Quality has named Vincent Cotter, superintendent of the Colonial School District in Plymouth Meeting, Pa., for the past 11 years, its 2011 recipient of the Juran Medal during its annual World Conference on Quality and Improvement. The medal is given for practicing the key principles of quality management. Cotter is the first superintendent to receive the award. An 11-year member of AASA, Cotter previously was principal of North Penn High School. He holds a doctorate from Temple University.

 Laura Keller

Laura J. Keller
After serving for 38 years in Ohio's public schools as a teacher, counselor, assistant principal, principal and superintendent, Laura Keller has joined the Ohio Department of Education as the Northwest regional coordinator of Race to the Top, one of six staff members to monitor schools' progress. Most recently, she was the superintendent of the Old Fort Local Schools for 4 1/2 years. She came to Old Fort in 2003 as interim principal, then was appointed to the permanent post for three years. Previously, Keller was the principal at Springfield High School in Holland. She has been a member of AASA for five years.


 Rebecca Lowry

Rebecca S. Lowry
Rebecca Lowry, an AASA member since 2009, will become the new superintendent of the Westmoreland, Va., School District, beginning July 1. For the past two years, she has worked as the assistant superintendent of the Chichester School District in Aston, Pa. Previously she was associate superintendent of curriculum and instruction in Dayton, Ohio, chief academic officer in Cleveland, Ohio, and deputy chief of postsecondary education in Cleveland. Lowry began as a school psychologist. She earned a Ph.D. in counseling/student personnel services and management from Virginia Tech.

 Virginia McElyea

Virginia B. McElyea
After spending the last eight years as superintendent of the Deer Valley Unified School District in Phoenix, Ariz., Virginia McElyea has joined Arizona State University as executive director of a five-year Ready-for-Rigor Project funded by the Teacher Incentive Program. She filled various posts over the years, including assistant superintendent of instruction and director of curriculum in the Phoenix, Ariz., Union High School District. An AASA member since 1985, McElyea earned an curriculum and supervision from the University of Georgia.

 Robert Winter

Robert W. Winter
Grand Island, Neb., Public Schools will welcome Robert Winter as the new superintendent on July 1. Winter has been superintendent in Salina, Kan., since 2004. He was selected the 2010 Kansas Superintendent of the Year. Earlier, he served as superintendent in Scottsbluff, Neb., for 10 years, superintendent in Riley, Kan., for six years and superintendent in Bird City, Kan., for three years. Winter also worked as a high school principal and aquatics teacher early in his career. An AASA member since 1988, he earned his doctorate in educational administration from Kansas State University.


Valencia Douglas,
from superintendent, Nyack, N.Y., to superintendent, Pocantico Hills Central School, Sleepy Hollow, N.Y.

Karen Krause, from principal to superintendent, Ripley, N.Y.

Brenda Myers, from superintendent, Groton, N.Y., to superintendent, Valhalla, N.Y.

Richard O'Malley, from superintendent, Matawan-Aberdeen Regional School District, Aberdeen, N.J., to superintendent, Edison Township, N.J.

David Perry, from superintendent, Gorman, Texas, to superintendent, Brooks County Independent School District, Falfurrias, Texas

Robert Urzillo, from superintendent, Conrad Weiser Area School District, Robesonia, Pa., to superintendent, Blue Mountain School District, Orwigsburg, Pa.

Jane Fosberg,
superintendent, Falconer, N.Y.

Michael Havens, superintendent, Wayne Central School District, Ontario Center, N.Y.

Theodore Kawryga, superintendent, Dolgeville, N.Y.

Jean Kovach, superintendent, West Seneca, N.Y.

Donald Lee, superintendent, Shaler Area School District, Glenshaw, Pa.

Tony Marchio, superintendent, Appoquinimink School District, Middletown, Del.

Tom Narak, superintendent, West Des Moines, Iowa

Anthony Parker, superintendent, Berkeley County School District, Moncks Corner, S.C.

Judith Pastel, superintendent, Ithaca, N.Y.

John Patzwald, superintendent, Forest Hills School District, Cincinnati, Ohio

Joseph Porto, superintendent, Avoca West School District 37, Wilmette, Ill.

Robert Post, superintendent, Grove City, Pa.

Patty Priest, superintendent, Dade County, Ga.

Leonard Rezmierski, superintendent, Northville, Mich.

Diane Roussel, superintendent, Jefferson Parish School, Harvey, La.

Mary Rubadeau, superintendent, Telluride, Colo.

Shelley Saffer, superintendent, Comsewogue Schools, Port Jefferson Station, N.Y.

Diane Scricca, superintendent, Riverhead, N.Y.

Chris Sorensen, superintendent, Nebo School District, Spanish Fork, Utah

Ken Sorrick, superintendent, North Palos School District 117, Palos Hills, Ill.

Paul Tisdale, superintendent, Biloxi, Miss.

Joy Williams, superintendent, Pierce County, Ga.

News about AASA members’ promotions, retirements, honors and deaths should be addressed to: Editor, The School Administrator, 801 N. Quincy St., Suite 700, Arlington, VA 22203. Fax: 703-841-1543. E-mail: