Hank S. Bangser
An AASA member since 1978, Hank Bangser recently became the new superintendent of the 3,000-student Ojai, Calif., Unified School District. Bangser previously served as the chief executive officer for Hazard, Young, Attea & Associates, an executive search firm, for two years. He has held posts as superintendent for 23 years in Pelham, N.Y., St. Charles, Ill., and Northfield/Winnetka, Ill., and served as a principal in Lake Forest, Ill. Bangser began his career as an English teacher in Skokie, Ill.. He earned a Ph.D. in educational administration from Northwestern University.


Tom W. Kimbrell
Following four years as executive director of the Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators, Tom Kimbrell has assumed the position of Arkansas commissioner of education. Kimbrell earlier worked as superintendent of the districts in North Little Rock and Paragould, Ark. He also was director of fiscal services in Paragould, assistant principal in Corning, and a teacher in Paragould and Pocahontas, all in Arkansas. Kimbrell, a 10-year AASA member, holds a doctorate in education from Arkansas State University.


John F. McEwan
The new president of Cardinal Spellman High School in Brockton, Mass., is John McEwan, who started his career there 37 years ago as a teacher/department head. An AASA member for the past eight years, McEwan served for eight years as superintendent in Whitman, Mass. He earlier held site administrator posts in the Dover-Sherborn and Silver Lake school districts, both in Massachusetts. McEwan won the President’s Award from the Massachusetts Association of School Superintendents in 2009. He holds an Ed.D. in educational leadership from the University of Massachusetts.


Thomas L. Rogers
After 16 years with the New York State Council of School Superintendents in Albany, N.Y., including six as executive director, Tom Rogers has been named district superintendent of the Nassau BOCES in Garden City, N.Y. With 4,300 staff and 56 school districts, this is the largest BOCES in New York. Rogers earlier was a program associate in the New York State Senate Majority Program Office. He recently co-founded Public Schools for Tomorrow, an organization of public school leaders. An AASA member since 1996, Rogers earned a doctorate from Teachers College at Columbia University.


Jeffrey M. Young
Following an 11-year run as superintendent in Newton, Mass., Jeffrey Young has moved into the superintendency of Cambridge, Mass. He previously served superintendencies in Lexington, Mass., and Lynnfield, Mass., worked as assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction in Lynnfield and co-chaired the English department in Brookline, Mass. An AASA member since 1989, Young holds an Ed.D. in administration, planning and social policy from Harvard University’s Graduate School of Education.


Sharon L. Zoellner
The new superintendent in Louisburg, Kan., Unified School District is Sharon Zoellner. She spent the previous 10 years in the De Soto, Kan., Unified Schools, the past six as the superintendent. Earlier in De Soto, she held posts as deputy superintendent, assistant superintendent, director of finance and student services, and elementary school principal. An AASA member since 1993, Zoellner is president-elect of the Kansas Association of School Administrators in 2009-10. She served as president of the United School Administrators of Kansas in 2001. Zoellner earned her Ph.D. in educational administration from the University of Kansas.

Deborah Cuevas, from principal to superintendent, Briggs School District, Santa Paula, Calif.

James Haley, from superintendent, Oak Grove, Mo., to superintendent, Warsaw, Mo.

Bruce Hibbard, from assistant superintendent, Metropolitan School District of Washington Township, Indianapolis, Ind., to superintendent, New Albany-Floyd County, Ind., Consolidated School Corporation.

Mike Paskewicz, from superintendent, Adams 12 Five Star Schools, in Thorton, Colo., to superintendent, Northview Public Schools, Grand Rapids, Mich.

Sarah Pinion, from superintendent, Jesup, Iowa, to superintendent, Marion, Iowa

Mike Scott, from interim superintendent to superintendent, Hillsboro, Ore.

Michael Severson, from superintendent, Central Cass School District, Casselton, N.D., to superintendent, New Salem, N.D.

Chris Small, superintendent, Grain Valley, Mo., to superintendent, New Bloomfield, Mo.

Eric L. Eversley, superintendent, Freeport, N.Y.

Ronald L. Friedman, superintendent, Great Neck, N.Y.

Richard J. Keville, superintendent, Camden, N.Y.

Jim Lewis, superintendent, Blaine County School District 61, Hailey, Idaho

Lorenzo Licopoli, superintendent, Mineola, N.Y.

Richard S. Marsh, superintendent, Bethpage, N.Y.

Edward Price, superintendent, Island Park, N.Y.

Leon J. Reed, superintendent, Schuylerville, N.Y.

Robert J. Reidy, superintendent, Mahopac, N.Y.

Richard R. Rhau, superintendent, Saugerties, N.Y.

John E. Slattery, superintendent, Thousand Islands School District, Clayton, N.Y.

Gary P. Smith, superintendent, Greene, N.Y.

Lynn Steenblock, superintendent, Forest Lake, Minn.

John L. Stoothoff, superintendent, Washington-Saratoga-Warren-Hamilton-Essex BOCES, Fort Edward, N.Y.

Dominick Vita, superintendent, Litchfield, Conn.

Brian A. Beeler, 59, superintendent, Acton, Maine, April 25

Frank Greenhall, 59, retired superintendent, Warwick, N.Y., Aug. 21

John Harrison, 41,superintendent, Ottawa Township, Ill., Oct. 11

Richard A. Steudle, 76, retired superintendent, Berlin, N.H., Sept. 11

Deborah S. Stewart, 57, superintendent, Hope, Maine, March 25