2020 AASA and Sourcewell Helping Kids Mini Grant Award Recepients

2020 AASA/Sourcewell Helping Kids Mini Grant

Since 2012, Sourcewell and AASA have joined forces to bring the Helping Kids Program, an urgent mini grant that is funded by AASA through a partnership with Sourcewell, to AASA and Sourcewell members. This year the grant has been increased to $70,000 in grant funds to help meet the urgent health, social service, academic and/or related needs of individual students and their families. Examples include clothing, medical care, dental care, eyeglasses, prescriptions, hearing aids, food, shelter, supplies, fuel, emergency transportation, childcare, enrichment and academic or life-enhancing opportunities that could not otherwise be provided.

Sourcewell is AASA's Premier School Solutions Center Partner. We would like to thank Sourcewell for its continuing support of AASA and for supporting students in need through the Helping Kids Program. 

Award all schools affected by natural disaster:

  • Tuscaloosa City Schools, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Superintendent: Mike Daria

  •  Urbandale Community Schools, Urbanale, Iowa

Superintendent: Steve Bass

  •  Wyoming Central School, Wyoming, New York

Superintendent: Kathleen Schuessler

  • ·         Marlboro County School District, Bennettsville, South Carolina

Superintendent: Gregory McCord

  •   Dallas Independent School District (Grant 1), Dallas, Texas

Superintendent: Michael Hinojosa

  •  Dallas Independent School District (Grant 2), Dallas, Texas

Superintendent: Michael Hinojosa


Award the following:

  •  Hoover City Schools, Hoover, Alabama

Superintendent: Kathy Murphy

  •  Cedar Ridge School District, Newark, Arkansas

Superintendent: Andy Ashley

  • Deer Valley Unified School District, Phoenix, Arizona

Superintendent: Curtis Finch

  •  Alhambra Unified School District, Alhambra, California

Superintendent: Denise Jaramillo

  •  Community Consolidated School District #168, Sauk Village, Illinois

Superintendent: Donna Leak

  • Vienna High School #13-3, Vienna, Illinois

Superintendent: Joshua Stafford

  • Waukegan #60, Waukegan, Illinois

Superintendent: Theresa Plascencia

  •  Battle Creek Public Schools, Battle Creek, Michigan

Superintendent: Kimberly Carter

  • Little Falls Community Schools, Little Falls, Minnesota

Superintendent: Stephen Jones

  • Boonville R-1 School District, Boonville, Missouri

Superintendent: Sarah E Marriott

  • Hazelwood School District, Florissant, Missouri

Superintendent: Nettie Collins-Hart

  • Browning Public Schools, Browning, Montana

Superintendent: Corrina Guardipee Hall

  • Solen Public School District, Solen, North Dakota

Superintendent: Justin Fryer

  • Rio Rancho Public Schools, Rio Rancho, New Mexico

Superintendent: V. Sue Cleveland

  • Groton Central School District, Groton, New York

Superintendent: Margo Marin

  •  Butler Area School District, Butler, Pennsylvania

Superintendent: Brian J. White

  • Franklin Regional School District, Murrysville, Pennsylvania

Superintendent: Gennaro R. Piraino

  • Halifax Area School District, Halifax, Pennsylvania

Superintendent: David R. Hatfield

  • Mt.Lebanon School District, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Superintendent: Timothy J. Steinhauer

  • Loudoun County Public Schools, Ashburn, Virginia

Superintendent: Eric Williams

  • Indian Prairie School District 204, Aurora, Illinois

Superintendent: Karen Sullivan

  • Intermediate District 287, Plymouth, Minnesota

Superintendent: Sandra Lewandowsi