Educational Administration Scholarship Award

AASA’s Educational Administration Scholarships were created in 1949 to provide incentive, honor and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career.

The scholarships in the amount of $2,500 each for outstanding graduate students are named for each of AASA's seven former executive directors. Recipients are honored at AASA's National Conference on Education and a $500 travel allowance is provided. Application deadline is October 15, 2015.

Educational Administration Scholarship Award Application Form - Word 

Educational Administration Scholarship Award Application Form - PDF 

The 2015 scholarship recipients are:

Arrow Read press release.

Michael K. Bunch
Gustine Middle School
Gustine, Calif.

Eugene Figueroa
Dean of Students
New York City Dept. of Education
New York, N.Y.

Benjamin J. Ploeger
Eagle Ridge Academy High School
Brighton, Colo.


 2014 Recipients

ArrowRead Press Release
ArrowRead Conference Daily Online

AASA Awards Scholarships to Five Top Graduate Students 


Finis E. Engleman Award

Oryla Marie Wiedoeft
School Site Administrator
Los Angeles Unified School District, Los Angeles, Calif.
Currently enrolled at: University of South California, Los Angeles, Calif. 
>> Read Bio


Forrest E. Connor Award

Karen Denise Cheser
Chief Academic Officer/Deputy Superintendent
Boone County School, Florence, Ky.
Currently enrolled at: Northern Kentucky University, Highland Heights, Ky.
>> Read Bio

 Ben-Talbert.jpg Paul B. Salmon Award

R. Benjamin Talbert
Middle School Principal
Auburn School District, Auburn, Wash.
Currently enrolled at: Seattle University, Seattle, Wash.
>> Read Bio
 Brickel.jpg Richard D. Miller Award

Thomas Brian Brickel
Department Chair—Special Education
Academy District 20, Air Academy High School, Air Force Academy, Colo.
Currently enrolled at: University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, Colo.
>> Read Bio
 Williams.jpg Paul D. Houston Award

Kelly Tremaine Williams
Vice Principal
Newark Public Schools, Newark, N.J.
Currently enrolled at: Kean University, Union, N.J.
>> Read Bio


2013 Recipients

The 2013 scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order of recipient, and the university at which each is pursuing doctoral studies, are:


Doris Crawford Worth McClure Award
Doris Lynette Crawford, director of secondary schools, Shelby County Public Schools, Ky.;
Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond, Ky.
Thomas Fry Finis E. Engleman Award
Thomas Fry, Jr., director of curriculum and instruction, Granville Exempted Village Schools, Ohio; Ashland University, Ashland, Ohio
Courtney Hart Forrest E. Connor Award
Courtney Elise Hart, coordinator of assessment and accountability, Lewisville Independent School District, Texas; The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, Texas
Leigh Anne Neal Paul B. Salmon Award
Leigh Anne Neal, K-12 central office administrator, Shawnee Mission School District, Kan.; Baker University, Baldwin City, Kan.
Frederick Rundle Richard D. Miller Award
Frederick Dennis Rundle, elementary principal, Mercer Island School District, Wash.; Seattle University, Seattle, Wash.
Dannette Sokacich Paul D. Houston Award
Danette Tiffany Sokacich, assistant principal and teacher, Dr. Pedro Albizu Campos Puerto Rican H.S., Ill; Northeastern


2012 Recipients

The 2012 scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order of recipient, and the university at which each is pursuing doctoral studies, are:

S. D. Shankland Award


Bostic Robert E. Bostic, director of school leadership and instructional technology,
Denton Independent School District, Tex.; University of North Texas, Denton, Tex.


Forrest E. Connor Award



David Lee Dimmett, senior vice president/chief communications officer, Project Lead the Way, Clifton Park, N.Y.; Indiana University, Bloomington, In.


Worth McClure Award



Anne Tybor Hoover, middle school principal, Palmyra Area School District, Pa.;
Widener University, Chester, Pa.


Paul B. Salmon Award



David Grant Hornak, elementary principal, Holt Public Schools, Mich.; Central Michigan University, Mt. Pleasant, Mich.


Finis E. Engleman Award



Michael S.W. Knox, principal, Celebrate the Children, School for Children with Alternative Learning Styles, Wharton, N.J.; Kean University, Union, N.J.


Richard D. Miller Award



Jennifer Ruth Kubista, director of student life, Tacoma Public Schools, Wash.; Seattle University, Wash.


Paul D. Houston Award



Lisa Hackel Young, coordinator of 21st learning and professional development, Carroll Independent School District, Tex.; University of North Texas, Denton, Tex.


2011 Recipients
The 2011 scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

S. D. Shankland Award
Matthew James Adams is an elementary school principal, Ankeny Community School District in Ankeny, Iowa. He is working on his doctorate in education from Drake University in Des Moines. Adams received a B.S. degree in elementary education from Iowa State University and both a master's degree and an Ed.S. degree in educational leadership from Drake University.

Worth McClure Award
Christopher Stephen Bernier is principal of School Choice Services for Orange County Public Schools in Orange County, Fla. He is completing the requirements for his doctorate at the University of Central Florida. Bernier earned his bachelor’s degree from LeMoyne College in Syracuse, N.Y., and a master’s degree from Southeastern University in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Finis E. Engleman Award
Maribel Galan is an elementary principal in Norwalk-La Mirada Unified School District in Norwalk, Calif.. She is completing her doctoral requirements at Pepperdine University in Malibu, Calif. She has earned her bachelor’s degree in law and society from the University of California Santa Barbara and her master’s in education administration from California State University-Dominguez Hills.

Forrest E. Connor Award
Fawzia A. Keval is an elementary principal in Elk Grove Unified School District in Elk Grove, Calif. She is working on her doctorate at California State University, Sacramento. She received her bachelor’s degree from the University of Nairobi, Kenya and her master’s degree in school administration from California State University, Sacramento.

Paul B. Salmon Award
Amy Marie Kortemeyer is an elementary director of teaching and learning, Linn-Mar Community School District in Marion, Iowa. She is enrolled in the University of Northern Iowa’s Superintendent’s Licensure Program. She received her bachelor’s degree from the University of Iowa and her master’s degree from University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls, Iowa.

Richard D. Miller Award
Kathleen A. Rieke is coordinator of mathematics, science and Title I in the Metropolitan School District of Washington Township in Indianapolis She is pursuing a doctoral degree in educational leadership and curriculum and instruction at Indiana University. Rieke holds a master’s degree from Butler University and bachelor’s degrees from Illinois State University.

Paul D. Houston Award
Bruce Ralph Willingham Jr. is assistant superintendent of personnel for Maple Heights City Schools in Maple Heights, Ohio. He is a doctoral candidate at Ashland University in Ashland, Ohio. Willingham graduated from Cleveland State University and received a master’s degree in educational administration from John Carroll University.

2010 Recipients
Robert R. Bravo
Monique A. Darrisaw
Kim M. Hanks
Eric O. Haugeberg
Laura A. McDermott
Rosanna G. Mucetti
Corinne D. Pflug-Tilton

2009 Recipients
Ricardo Z. Medina
Margaret Lowell Rice
Matthew R. Seaton
Cynthia Renee Blansfield
Brandon Heath Core
Amanda C. Alice
Peter Sundin Carpenter, II

2008 Recipients
Patricia B. Charles
John V. Doherty
Robert J. Glass
Catherine McNamara
Kenneth R. Whitt
Denise M. Wickham

For more information, contact Bernadine Futrell - Director, Awards and Collaborations at