American Education Award

Established in 1928, this award honors an outstanding American citizen who has distinguished herself or himself through excellence in any profession, and who serves as a role model and teacher to others.

The presentation of this award is one of the highlights of the AASA National Conference on Education. Therefore, accepting the award in person is a prerequisite to accepting the honor.

Please submit nominations for individuals to be considered for this award by July 1 of any year. The final selection of the award winner is made by the executive director of AASA.

Award winners are presented with a beautiful crystal award and the name of each winner is commemorated on a plaque at AASA headquarters.



Current Award Winner Recent award winners:
 Robert Ballard

2012 - Robert Ballard
2011–  Diane Ravitch 
2008 – Paul D. Houston
2007 – Sandra Day O'Connor
2006 – Marian Wright Edelman
2005 – Dorothy I. Height
2004 – John Goodlad
2003 – Sen. Paul Wellstone
2001 – Jonathan Kozol

Past award winners (PDF)



For more information, contact Bernadine Futrell - Director, Awards and Collaborations at